Slovenia wins Eurovision Choir Of The Year 2017

The choir "Carmen Manet" from Slovenia won the first ever edition of "Eurovision Choir Of The Year". The contest took place tonight with nine Choirs competing live from Riga, Latvia

Tonight the first ever edition of "Eurovision Choir Of The Year" took place live from Riga, Latvia. Choirs from nine countries competed, and a professional jury chose the choir "Carmen Manet" from Slovenia as the winner.

Each of the nine choirs had six minutes to perform a choral piece - without music. The piece could include one or more songs.

The winning-choir Carmen Manet sang 3 songs: "Ta na Solbici", "Adrca" and "Aj, zelena je vsa gora".

Results – Eurovision Choir Of The Year 2017

  1. Slovenia – Carmen Manet
  2. Wales – Côr Merched Sir Gâr
  3. Latvia – Spīgo
  • Estonia – Estonian TV Girls' Choir
  • Denmark – Academic Choir of Aarhus
  • Belgium – Les Pastoureaux
  • Germany – Jazzchor Freiburg
  • Hungary – Bela Bartok Male Choir
  • Austria – Hardchor Linz


Each of the nine countries were represented by a choir, and each choir had six minutes to perform an unaccompanied choral piece . The choral piece should reflect national or regional character in some way, and could include singular or several musical works or of a free genre.

The performances were judged by a professional jury who solely decided the outcome:

  • Elīna Garanča (Mezzo-soprano, Latvia)
  • John Rutter (Composer, United Kingdom)
  • Nicolas Fink (Conductor, Switzerland)

Countries who are members of EBU were eligible to participate in Eurovision Choir of the Year.

The contest was produced by Latvian broadcaster Latvijas Televīzija (LTV) and the Riga Tourism Development Bureau. The hosts of tonight's show were Eric Whitacre and Eva Johansone.

Eurovision News