Denmark: Melodi Grand Prix 1996

Pre-qualifying round for Eurovision 1996

30 countries submitted songs for Eurovision 1996. In order to shortlist the number of participants in the final the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) held a pre-qualifying round.

The audio-only pre-qualifying round contained all 30 songs except Norway (host country), and was never televised or broadcast on radio.

Denmark was one of seven countries that failed to qualify for the Eurovision final from the pre-qualifying round, so they were not represented at Eurovision 1996 in Oslo.


Melodi Grand Prix 1996

Date9 March 1996
LocationDR studios
HostHans Otto Bisgård
Voting100% televoting

Eurovision News