Eurovision Young Musicians 2018 - Edinburgh

Eurovision Young Musicians 2018: Congratulations Ivan Bessonov

Ivan Bessonov from Russia wins the 19th edition of Eurovision Young Musicians

Classical Piano played by the talented 16 year-old has brought Russia it's first victory in the Eurovision Young Musician Contest. Hosted in Edinburgh, Scotland for the first time as part of the Edinburgh International Festival on August 23rd, 18 countries participated including the debut of Albania by Klaudio Zoto.

After two semi-finals the field was narrowed down to 6 proud nations: Norway, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Russia. Second place and a 3,000 euro prize went to Nikola Pajanovic of Slovenia. Slovenia having last won in 2010.

First Place and a grand prize of 7,000 euros went to Ivan Bessonov of Russia who performed Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1, 3rd Movement. Ivan's victory marks the first win for Russia in the Young Musician contest which had not participated in the contest since 2010. Russia and Slovenia both made their debut in 1994.

18 countries

18 countries were represented by young musicians in this year's contest:

Albania, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Malta, Norway, Poland, Russia, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

What is Eurovision Young Musicians?

Eurovision Young Musicians is a biennal classic music competition (with a similar format of ESC) for people with less than 18 years old. It was created in 1982 and 2018's edition will be the 19th edition of the contest.

About the author: Christopher Carlson (United States)

Christopher Carlson is our American correspondent. His interest in Eurovision began in high school when his Spanish teacher would often play "Eres Tu" by Mocedades for the class. Later encounters with Eurovision occurred upon discovering Secret Garden's "Nocturne". As a fan of history as well as music Christopher enjoys writing articles that discuss the roots and foundations of the Eurovision Song Contest. Topping the list of his favorite songs are "Heel de wereld" by Corry Brokken, "Eres Tu" by Mocedades, "Inje" by Vanya Radovanovic and "You are the only one" by Sergey Lazarev.

Eurovision News