Lithuania Eurovizija

Pabandom iš naujo 2021: Lithuanian participants announced

Who will represent Lithuania at Eurovision Song Contest 2021? The 21 participants (groups/artists) for Pabandom iš naujo 2021 have been revealed


Evelina Sašenko withdraws from Pabandom iš naujo 2021

Due to the current COVID-19 restrictions in place in Lithuania, Evelina Sašenko has decided to withdraw from Pabandom iš naujo 2021:

– When I came up with the request to participate, the situation was different. Now everything is complicated, even leaving home is not easy.

– I live on the outskirts of Trakai, the police are standing near the house, even when going to the store you need to show documents. I realized that in such circumstances, when there are a couple of weeks before filming, I will not be able to properly prepare for the selection, rehearse. And if you are already going to Eurovision, you need to take it seriously.

– I certainly do not give up the idea of trying our hand at selection in the future. This year would be a beautiful anniversary – I participated in Eurovision ten years ago. After that, I said for several years that I would never go there again, but now I feel that I want to try again.

The Lithuanian broadcaster, LRT has revealed the names of the 21 groups and performers for Pabandom iš naujo 2021.

The winner will represent Lithuania at Eurovision Song Contest 2021 in Rotterdam.

Pabandom iš naujo 2021 – Participants

  • Aistė Brokenleg
  • Aldegunda
  • Be U
  • Black Spikes & Indrė Launikonytė
  • Cosmic Bride
  • Donata Virbilaitė
  • Evita Cololo
  • Gabrielė Goštautaitė
  • Gabrielius Vagelis
  • Gebrasy
  • Martyna Jezepčikaitė
  • Milita Daikerytė
  • Norbertas
  • Rapolas Meškauskas
  • Sunday Afternoon
  • The Roop (finalist)
  • Thomas Tumosa
  • Titas & Benas
  • Twosome
  • UnoBand
  • Voldemars Petersons

Pabandom iš naujo 2021

The Lithuanian selection for Eurovision 2021 will consist of four shows: Two heats, a semi-final and a final. The dates have not been announced.

This year's winner, The Roop, will return to the national selection after the cancellation of Eurovision 2020. The group has been awarded a ticket to the final of Pabandom iš naujo, while the other 20 acts will need to qualify for the national final.

Audrius Giržadas, Head producer of LRT, says:

– Every year, the selections receive a lot of public attention. However, knowing how difficult this period was for the music industry, we anxiously awaited the applications from the participants. We are very pleased that the performers and groups did not run away and, considering the whole situation, were quite active in submitting applications. So we will be able to delight the audience with really high-quality and different performances during the selections.

Lithuania in Eurovision Song Contest

Lithuania 2006: LT United - "We Are The Winners"

Lithuania has been taking part of Eurovision Song Contest 20 times since its debut in 1994.

The debuting year 1994 Lithuania ended last, and the best result is from 2006 where LT United performed the iconic song "We Are The Winners (of Eurovision)". It didn't win though, but went 6th. Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004, Lithuania has been in Eurovision every year and qualified for the Grand Final 9 out of 16 times.

Lithuania 2006: LT United - "We Are The Winners"

With both Estonias victory in 2001 ("Everybody") and Latvias victory in 2002 ("I Wanna"), Lithuania is the only Baltic country that haven't won Eurovision Song Contest.

Eurovision News