Eurovision Choir 2019: Stage

Tonight: Eurovision Choir 2019

The second edition of "Eurovision Choir" takes place tonight. Choirs from ten countries compete in the show live from Gothenburg, Sweden. Check out the lineup, format and how to watch

Tonight the second edition of Eurovision Choir takes place with ten countries participating, including a new member in the Eurovision family: Scotland.

The show kicks off at 20:30 CEST live from Partille Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden. Hosts are Ella Petersson (SVT) and Petroc Trelawny (BBC Radio 3). Eurovision Choir 2019 is combined with the Opening Ceremony of the European Choir Games, which also take place in Gothenburg.

Eurovision Choir 2019 - Lineup

RunningCountryChoirSongs round 1Songs round 2
1 SwedenZero8Khourmi
Hej, dunkom så länge vi levom
Limu, Limu, Lima
2 BelgiumAlmkaliaMade in Belgium (Medley)Million Eyes
3 LatviaBabite Municipality Mixed Choir MaskaPērkontēvsNāc, Dievini
4 GermanyBonnVoiceO Täler weit
Die Gedanken sind frei
5 NorwayVolve VokalØnskediktetFamine Song
6 DenmarkVocal LineTrue NorthViola
7 ScotlandAlbaCumha na Cloinne
Ach a' Mhairead
An t-Iarla Diùrach
Innis dhomhsa cà il thu cadal
Siud a rud a thogadh fonn
8 SloveniaJazzvaSpomenčiceBejži ptiček
9 SwitzerlandCake O’PhonieChante en mon cœur
La sera sper il lag
Le ranz des vaches
La ticinella
Chanson d'ici
10 WalesYsgol Gerdd CeredigionCúlna
Ar Lan y Môr
Yr Alwad

Eurovision Choir 2019 – Format


Each of the 10 countries will be represented by a choir, and each choirs will have 4 minutes to perform a choral piece. The piece can include one or more songs. After each performance the three jurors will give their comments.


After the 10 choirs have been on stage, there is a massed choir performance, where 300 singers will perform "Without You" by Avicii.


The jury will now select the 3 best choirs to proceed to Round 2. Here each of the 3 choirs will perform a piece of one or more songs lasting 3 minutes.


Performance by Eurovision Choir 2017 winners "Carmen Manet".


The jury will select the winning choir, who will be crowned "Eurovision Choir 2019", and awarded with a specially designed trophy. On top of that, the choir will get a ticket for the World Choir Games in Belgium in 2020.


Massed choir performance of ABBA's "Dancing Queen".

Eurovision Choir 2019 – How to watch

  • Belgium: La Trois – 20:30 CEST
  • Denmark: DR1 – 20:30 CEST
  • Germany: WDR – 20:15 CEST (pre-programme)
  • Latvia: LTV1 – 20:25 CEST
  • Norway: NRK1 & NRK Klassisk – 20:20 CEST
  • Scotland: BBC Alba – 19:30 BST
  • Slovenia: RTV1 – 20:40 CEST
  • Sweden: SVT2 – 20:30 CEST
  • Switzerland: RTS Un – 20:30 CEST
  • Wales: S4C – 19:00 BST (pre-programme)

The live stream from Belgium (La Trois) and Sweden (SVT2) will be available worldwide.

Eurovision Choir 2019 – Jury members

Deke Sharon (USA) is a performer, arranger, producer and coach and credited by many as being responsible for the current sound of modern a cappella. He has produced five seasons of "The Sing Off" for NBC, was arranger, music director and vocal producer for the "Pitch Perfect" films and was music director and guest judge on the BBC’s "Pitch Battle".

John Rutter (United Kingdom) is a composer and conductor. Much of his early work consisted of church music and other choral pieces including Christmas carols. Today his compositions, including such concert-length works as Requiem, Magnificat, Mass of the Children, The Gift of Life, and Visions are performed around the world. His music has featured at a number of British royal occasions, including the two most recent royal weddings.

Katarina Henryson (Sweden) works within a broad range of music genres, from classical music to jazz and pop and is one of the founding members of the internationally renowned a cappella group "The Real Group". With her flexible altovoice, numerous compositions and distinct stage presence she has contributed to the group for 32 years and can be heard on 20 albums.

Eurovision Choir – History

The first edition of Eurovision Choir (called Eurovision Choir of the Year) took place at Riga Arena in Latvia on 22 July 2017, host broadcast by Latvijas Televīzija (LTV), and was won by Slovenian girls' choir Carmen Manet.

Nine countries sent choirs to this inaugural edition, which was hosted by Eric Whitacre and Eva Johansone, and adjudicated by UK composer and conductor John Rutter, Latvian mezzo-soprano Elīna Garanča and Swiss conductor Nicholas Fink.

Eurovision News