Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light 2020

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light

The Dutch Eurovision 2020 broadcasters will produce a new show: Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light. The show will air on Saturday 16 May

After Eurovision Song Contest 2020 was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Dutch broadcasters who should have produced Eurovision 2020 (NPO, NOS and AVROTROS), will now produce a new show: "Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light"

The show will air in place of the Grand Final on Saturday 16 May 2020 at 21:00 CEST online on Eurovision's YouTube. Some national broadcasters will also air the show. The show is expected to last 2 hours.

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light

The show will honour all the 41 entries submitted for Eurovision Song Contest 2020. The show will be presented by the hosts Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley and Jan Smit.

Eurovision 2020 Hosts: Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Janzen and Jan Smit
Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Janzen and Jan Smit (Photo: NPO/AVROTROS/NOS)

The show will try to bring together some of the Eurovision 2020 artists, from their own locations, performing a Eurovision song from the past, with changed lyrics written for the current situation we all find ourselves in.

Some well known artists from Eurovision's previous shows will also be invited to perform from their own locations. All 41 artists have been invited to join together and sing “Love Shine A Light" by Katrina and the Waves who won the Eurovision Song Contest 1997 for the United Kingdom.

The EBU is also inviting fans to participate in this special event by creating a choir, with people across the globe singing Johnny Logan’s "What’s Another Year". Click here to check how you can get involved in this special event.

Confirmed acts

Updated 13 August 2020, 01:16 CEST

The list of acts will be updated as they are confirmed···

Denmark 2020 – Ben & Tan

This year's Danish winners, Ben & Tan, will participate in the show with their song Yes.

Jan Lagermand Lundme from Danish broadcaster DR says:

– Now we will see both good memories from the history of Eurovision, and also Ben & Tan and their fantastic song will go out all over Europe. I am particularly happy with this: It is really good that the song will come out to so many viewers and fans there.

Source: DR

Spain 2020 – Blas Cantó

The Spanish internal selection, Blas Cantó, will participate in the show with his entry Universo.

Blas has confirmed he will be interpreting his Eurovision Song Contest 2020 song in the program, which will have some surprises for viewers. He ends his message by saying:

– This year we will not be able to participate in the Eurovision stage but next year we will arrive with more force.

Source: RTVE

Italy 2020 – Diodato

Diodato, who won the right to represent Italy in the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 will participate in the show with his entry "Fai rumore".

He was official confirmed by the national broadcaster, RAI, and will be showcasing himself during the special broadcast. The Italian broadcaster stated:

– Diodato, winner of the Sanremo Festival, will represent Italy on 16 May in Europe Shine a Light, the evening event broadcast on Rai1 and Radio2 from 20.35 CEST, which this year takes the replaces the Eurovision Song Contest, the most watched music program in the world but canceled due to the emergency linked to the spread of the coronavirus.

Source: RAI

Ireland 1980 & 1987 – Johnny Logan

Johnny Logan who has won the Eurovision Song Contest twice - back in 1980 and 1987 - has confirmed that he will be part of Eurovision's special Europe Shine a Light.

The Irish singer has confirmed the news through a video posted in the Eurovision Song Contest's social media:

– I am really, really proud to be part of the show. I am going to be singing "What's Another Year" which is a song I won the Eurovision with, in Holland, 40 years ago. We're going to sing this song on the show and it'd be very nice if fans from all over the world could join, he stated.

EBU is now currently looking for fans who can make Johnny's wish become reality and bring a sing-a-long of "What's Another Year" to the screen.

Greece 2001 & 2005 – Helena Paparizou

Helena Paparizou, who won the contest for Greece back in 2005, is also going to be part of Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light, Greek media reports.

Website reports that Paparizou will be singing part of her winning song "My Number One".


Azerbaijan 2011 – Ell & Nikki

The winners of Eurovision 2011, Ell & Nikki, will also be part of the show.

The duo has updated their official Instagram accounts with a picture together confirming the new:

– Here we are! Shooting something very interesting for you. Stay tuned.

Serbia 2007 – Marija Šerifović

Marija was the Serbian representative in Eurovision 2007 with the song "Molitva". She ended up winning the who contest and giving the nation's first win. It was announced on Instagram that she is currently recording her winning song in the empty street of Belgrade. This video is going to be premiered during the special broadcast.

Germany 2018 & The Netherlands 2014 – Michael Schulte & Ilse DeLange (from The Common Linnets) has confirmed that Michael Schulte (Germany 2018) and Ilse DeLange from The Common Linnets (The Netherlands 2014) will be performing "Ein Bisschen Frieden" by Nicole (Germany 1982).

Israel 2018 – Netta

The confirmation of Netta (Israel 2018) also comes from The Eurovision 2018 winner will sing an acoustic version of a new song with an important message for the times we're living.

Israel 1979 – Gali Atari

Gali Atari (Israel 1979) will be part of the line-up. According to, the singer will be performing "Hallelujah" and joined by former Junior Eurovision Song Contest acts.

The Netherlands 2019 – Duncan Laurence

The winner of last year's Eurovision in Tel Aviv will also be performing. Duncan Laurence (The Netherlands 2019) will be singing a brand new song.

Sweden 2015 – Måns Zelmerlöw

The Eurovision Song Contest 2015 winner, Måns Zelmerlöw (Sweden 2015) is set to be taking part in the show to remind everyone of his winning song, "Heroes".

How to watch

The show will be aired online on YouTube.

45 broadcasters have confirmed that they will air the show on national TV:

Albania (RTVSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Australia (SBS)
Austria – ORF 1
Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
Belarus – Belarus 1
Belgium – Eén
Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT)
Bulgaria – BNT 1
Croatia (HRT)
Cyprus (CyBC)
Czech Republic – ČT art
Denmark – DR 1
Estonia – ETV
Finland – Yle TV2
France – France 2
Georgia (GPB)
Germany – Das Erste
Greece (ERT)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Israel (IPBC/Kan)
Italy – Rai 1
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Malta (PBS)
Moldova (TRM)
Montenegro (RTCG)
Netherlands – NPO 1
North Macedonia (MKRTV)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal – RTP1
Romania (TVR)
Russia (C1R)
San Marino (RTV)
Serbia – RTS1
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Spain – La 1
Sweden – SVT 1
Switzerland (SRG / SSR)
Ukraine – UA:First
United Kingdom – BBC One

Eurovision News