Germany 2018: Unser Lied für Lissabon Logo

Germany: Unsere Lieder für Lissabon released

The six songs competing in this year's German selection for Eurovision Song Contest – Unser Lied für Lissabon – have just been released. Listen and vote!

The six songs for "Unser Lied für Lissabon" have just been released for streaming and download. The national selection in Germany will take place on this Thursday 22 February 2018, live from Berlin, starting at 20:15 CET.

The six artists were unveiled in December 2017, and now their songs are released.

The artists have been on a three-day songwriting camp together with fifteen national and international songwriters, composers and producers to create the six songs.

Unser Lied für Lissabon

  • Ivy Quainoo – "House on Fire"
  • Michael Schulte – "You Let Me Walk Alone"
  • Natia Todua – "My Own Way"
  • Ryk – "You and I"
  • voXXclub – "I mog Di so"
  • Xavier Darcy – "Jonah"
Ivy Quainoo – "House on Fire"
Natia Todua – "My Own Way"
Michael Schulte – "You Let Me Walk Alone"
Ryk – "You and I"
voXXclub – "I mog Di so"
Xavier Darcy – "Jonah"

The show takes place on Thursday 22 February 2018, live from Berlin. The winner will be selected by a combination of:

  • Public televoting
  • Eurovision Panel
  • International Jury

The Eurovision panel consists of 100 Eurovision fans recruited through surveys on social media in order to reflect the taste of the wider European audience, and it participates in the decision-making process from the candidate selection phase to the televised final.

The International Jury will have 19 members who previously have been part of national juries of their respective countries at Eurovision.

Germany in Eurovision Song Contest

Germany 2017: Levina - "Perfect Life"

Germany is a grand old country in the Eurovision Song Contest. They have participated 61 times since the beginning of ESC in 1956. The only year Germany didn't participate was in 1996. Prior to the competition in 1996, 30 countries had signed up for participation, so EBU had to make a selection. Judges from the countries made a secret voting, where the 22 best qualified. During this voting, the judges only listen to but didn't watch the contestants. This turned out to be highly unpopular, and it was also the only time this method was used. The result of the voting was that Germany was ruled out. This was the first and only time Germany didn't participate in Eurovision Song Contest.

Best result is two victories in 1982 (Nicole - "Ein Bißchen Frieden") and 2010 (Lena - "Satellite"), and the worst is seven last places. They are also a member of "Club Nul Points", with nul points in 1964, 1965 and 2015.

Eurovision News