Germany Unser Song 2017 participants

Germany: Unser Song 2017 contestants revealed

The German broadcaster NDR has revealed the five contestants for this year's "Unser Song". The winner of Unser Song 2017 will represent Germany at Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv

UPDATE 17 January 2017:
Germany Unser Song 2017: Yosefin Buohler
Yosefin Buohler

Wilhelm "Sadi" Richter withdraws from Unser Song 2017 because of personal reasons.

Yosefin Buohler will replace Sadi.

The five contestants for the German national selection "Unser Song" have been revealed by broadcaster NDR. 2500 hopefulls were initially in the run for Unser Song 2017, and 33 where chosen to a live audition. Five of these have now been selected by an expert jury to compete in Unser Song 2017 on 9 February 2017.

Unser Song 2017 – participants

  • Axel Maximilian Feige
  • Felicia Lu Kürbiß
  • Helene Nissen
  • Isabella "Levina" Lueen
  • Wilhelm "Sadi" Richter (withdrawn)
  • Yosefin Buohler (replaces Sadi)

Unser Song 2017

The live show takes place on 9 February 2017 at 20:15 CET in Cologne. Here the five competitors will each perform three songs: One cover version to demonstrate their technical talent, and two songs specifically written for Eurovision. All five will perform the two songs same songs written for Eurovision. A jury consisting of three musicians, Lena (Germany 2010), Florian Silbereisen and Tim Bendzko, will give their comments on the performances.

The winner is solely selected by the audience - through televoting and via the official Eurovision app. International fans can vote as well, but the international votes won't effect the results and will only be shown as a poll at the show.

Unser Song 2017 will be hosted by Barbara Schöneberger.

Germany in Eurovision Song Contest

Best result is two victories in 1982 (Nicole - "Ein Bißchen Frieden") and 2010 (Lena - "Satellite"), and the worst is seven last places. They are also a member of "Club Nul Points", with nul points in 1964, 1965 and 2015.

Germany 2010: Lena - "Satellite"

Germany is a grand old country in the Eurovision Song Contest. They have participated 60 times since the beginning of ESC in 1956. The only year Germany didn't participate was in 1996. Prior to the competition in 1996, 30 countries had signed up for participation, so EBU had to make a selection. Judges from the countries made a secret voting, where the 22 best qualified. During this voting, the judges only listen to but didn't watch the contestants. This turned out to be highly unpopular, and it was also the only time this method was used. The result of the voting was that Germany was ruled out. This was the first and only time Germany didn't participate in Eurovision Song Contest.

Eurovision News