Eurovision Choir 2019

Let the choir sing!

Eurovision is more than just one contest a year

Eurovision 2020 is still ten months away and Junior Eurovision isn't until November 24th, 2019, but fear not for there is still Eurovision Choir 2019 to fill the time. One the 3rd day of August ten countries will send their top choirs to the Partille Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden. As one of the newest Eurovision spin-off competitions the future looks bright for the contest. The first edition of the contest in 2017 was warmly received and saw 9 choirs vie for the title of "Choir of the Year".

This year 10 countries are participating but that's not to say that they only added one nation and that's it.

Eurovision Choir 2019 – Lineup

RunningCountryChoirSongs round 1Songs round 2
1 SwedenZero8Khourmi
Hej, dunkom så länge vi levom
Limu, Limu, Lima
2 BelgiumAlmkaliaMade in Belgium (Medley)Million Eyes
3 LatviaBabite Municipality Mixed Choir MaskaPērkontēvsNāc, Dievini
4 GermanyBonnVoiceO Täler weit
Die Gedanken sind frei
5 NorwayVolve VokalØnskediktetFamine Song
6 DenmarkVocal LineTrue NorthViola
7 ScotlandAlbaCumha na Cloinne
Ach a' Mhairead
An t-Iarla Diùrach
Innis dhomhsa cà il thu cadal
Siud a rud a thogadh fonn
8 SloveniaJazzvaSpomenčiceBejži ptiček
9 SwitzerlandCake O’PhonieChante en mon cœur
La sera sper il lag
Le ranz des vaches
La ticinella
Chanson d'ici
10 WalesYsgol Gerdd CeredigionCúlna
Ar Lan y Môr
Yr Alwad

Of the 9 original participants three, Austria, Estonia and Hungary have decided not to return, instead wishing to focus their time and resources on either Junior Eurovision or Eurovision 2020. The returning participants include Belgium, Germany, Latvia and Slovenia. Denmark had originally withdrawn but decided in March that they would in fact return to the contest. France was supposed to debut at this years contest but their participation was never confirmed. Countries that are making their debut include Norway, Switzerland and the host nation, Sweden.

As with Junior Eurovision, United Kingdom is noticeably absent from Eurovision Choir. This, of course, leaves the door open for the member states of the United Kingdom to participate on their own merit. Wales participated in Junior Eurovision for the first time last year and in 2017 they participated in the first edition of Eurovision Choir. Wales will be making a return to the competition in Gothenburg along with their neighbour to the north Scotland, who will be making their debut not only in the choir competition but in any Eurovision event on their own, separate from the United Kingdom.

For those who are unfamiliar with the competition the format and winner selection differ a bit from the main Eurovision Song Contest. Choirs can range in size from 4 - 45 members and may perform in any genre they chose. Each choir will perform a 4-minute piece A Capella (without accompaniment) in the first round. In the second round three choirs are asked to perform a second 3-minute piece. The winner is then chosen by an expert jury.

Eurovision Choir 2019 – How to watch

  • Belgium: La Trois – 20:30 CEST
  • Denmark: DR1 – 20:30 CEST
  • Germany: WDR – 20:15 CEST (pre-programme)
  • Latvia: LTV1 – 20:25 CEST
  • Norway: NRK – 20:20 CEST
  • Scotland: BBC Alba – 19:30 BST
  • Slovenia: RTV1 – 20:40 CEST
  • Sweden: SVT2 – 20:30 CEST
  • Switzerland: RTS un – 20:30 CEST
  • Wales: S4C – 19:00 BST (pre-programme)

Eurovision Choir 2019 – Jury members

This year the jury includes:

Deke Sharon, an American who is probably most noted for being the music director, arranger and vocal producer for the Pitch Perfect movie franchise. He also produced five seasons of the NBC show The Sing Off and well as music director and guest judge on the BBC's Pitch Battle.

John Rutter, a british composer and conductor. His compositions, including works such as Requiem and Mass of the Children, are world renowned and his music was even featured and the royal weddings of Prince William and Prince Harry.

Katarina Henryson is one of the founding members of the famous a capella band The Real Group. As a solo artist she has performed many different genres and her alto voice can be heard on over 20 albums spanning 32 years.

Eurovision Choir Of The Year 2017 Slovenia
Winner of Eurovision Choir 2017: Carmen Manet from Slovenia

Eurovision Choir 2017 was won by Slovenia and the choir of Carmen Manet. Who will win the competition this year? Join us on August 3rd, 2019 to find out and may the best choir win. Good luck to them all.

About the author: Christopher Carlson (United States)

Christopher Carlson is our American correspondent. His interest in Eurovision began in high school when his Spanish teacher would often play "Eres Tu" by Mocedades for the class. Later encounters with Eurovision occurred upon discovering Secret Garden's "Nocturne". As a fan of history as well as music Christopher enjoys writing articles that discuss the roots and foundations of the Eurovision Song Contest. Topping the list of his favorite songs are "Heel de wereld" by Corry Brokken, "Eres Tu" by Mocedades, "Inje" by Vanya Radovanovic and "You are the only one" by Sergey Lazarev.

Eurovision News