Lithuania Pabandom iš Naujo 2020 Semi-final 1
Photo: LRT

Lithuania: Here are the first six semi-finalists of Pabandom iš Naujo 2020

The very first heat of Pabandom iš Naujo has just come to an end with the selection of the first six semi-finalists who hope to represent Lithuania in Eurovision 2020

With a new name, new rules and an overall new image, Pabandom iš Naujo (English: We Go Again, former Eurovizijos) made its debut tonight on Lithuania's public channel LRT by broadcasting the show's first Heat.

Ieva Zasimauskaitė (Lithuania 2018) was part of the show and in charge of interviewing each of the acts. Gabrielė Martirosian and Giedrius Masalskis - Lithuanian TV presenters - were the hosts. As for the jury panel, that was built of five names: Darius Užkuraitis, Gerūta Griniūtė, Giedrė Kilčiauskienė, Vaidotas Stackevičius and Leon Somov.

Even though the show was broadcasted live, each performance had been previously recorded. As far the voting goes, the jury was in charge of 50% of the vote while the other half belonged to the public.

Once all was said and done, Monika Marija, Baltos Varnos, Meandi, Gabrielius Vagelis, Andy Vaic and Petunija were the picked ones to move on into the show's semi-final.

Pabandom iš Naujo 2020 – Heat 1 Results

  1. Monika Marija – "If I Leave" (24 points)
  2. Baltos Varnos – "Namų dvasia" (20 points)
  3. Meandi – "DRIP" (18 points)
  4. Gabrielius Vagelis – "Tave čia randu" (13 points)
  5. Andy Vaic – "Why Why Why" (12 points)
  6. Petunija – "Show Ya" (11 points)
  7. Aika – "Paradas" (8 points)
  8. Glossarium – "Game Over" (6 points)
  9. Aistay – "Dangus man tu" (5 points)
  10. Justinas Lapatinskas – "Highway Story" (1 points)
  11. Donata Virbilaitė – "Made of Wax" (1 point)
  12. Lukas Norkūnas – "Atsiprašyk" (0 points)

Pabandom iš Naujo 2020

A total of six shows have been scheduled. The first three shows are elimination heats, where half of the songs will be eliminated. In each of the two Semi-finals, four songs will qualify to the final:

  • 11 January 2020: Heat 1
  • 18 January 2020: Heat 2
  • 25 January 2020: Heat 3
  • 1 February 2020: Semi-final 1
  • 8 February 2020: Semi-final 2
  • 15 February 2020: Final

Lithuania in Eurovision Song Contest

Lithuania 2018: Ieva Zasimauskaitė - "When We're Old"

Lithuania has been taking part of Eurovision Song Contest 20 times since its debut in 1994.

The debuting year 1994 Lithuania ended last, and the best result is from 2006 where LT United performed the iconic song "We Are The Winners (of Eurovision)". It didn't win though, but went 6th. Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004, Lithuania has been in Eurovision every year and qualified for the Grand Final 9 out of 16 times.

Lithuania 2018: Ieva Zasimauskaitė - "When We're Old"

With both Estonias victory in 2001 ("Everybody") and Latvias victory in 2002 ("I Wanna"), Lithuania is the only Baltic country that haven't won Eurovision Song Contest.

About the author: Pedro Santos (Portugal)

authorPedro comes from Lisbon, Portugal. He's 30 years old and graduated in journalism. He has attended Eurovision Song Contest three times live - 2018, 2019 and 2022 - and covered the show twice more (2021, 2023) but his first Eurovision memory takes him back to 2007 when Sarbel delivered his catchy "Yassou Maria" performance. Pedro's favorite Eurovision song is Albania's 2015 "I'm Alive" by Elhaida Dani which is also his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News