Malta MESC 2018 contestants

Malta: Finalists announced for MESC 2018

30 songs shortlisted to 16 finalists for the Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2018

2018 will be the 31st participation for Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest. 

Tonight Malta's national public TV broadcaster, PBS, announced the 16 finalists for this year's Malta Eurovision Song Contest which will be held in February 2018.

The 30 singers performed in front of seven foreign judges who chose the 16 finalists.

The winning act will represent Malta at Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal.  

MESC 2018 Finalists 

  • Aidan – "Dai Laga"
  • Avenue Sky – "We Can Run"
  • Brooke Borg – "Heart of Gold"
  • Christabelle Borg – "Taboo"
  • Danica Muscat – "One Step At A Time"
  • Deborah C – "Turn It Up"
  • Eleanor Cassar – "Back To Life"
  • Jasmine Abela – "Supernovas"
  • Lawrence Gray – "Love Renegade"
  • Matthew Anthony – "Call 2morrow"
  • Mikhail Attard and Cherylis Camilleri – "Breaking Point"
  • Miriana Conte – "Rocket"
  • Petra – "Evolution"
  • Rhiannon Micallef – "Beyond Blue Horizons"
  • Richard & Joe Micallef – "Song For Dad"
  • Tiziana Calleja – "First Time

Malta in Eurovision Song Contest

Malta 2016: Ira Losco - "Walk on Water"

Malta debuted in Eurovision back in 1971 and has been in the contest 30 times since - without a victory. Best result is two runner-up's in 2002 (Ira Losco - "7th Wonder") and 2005 (Chiara - "Angel"). The worst results are the first two years, 1971 and 1972, where they finished last. 

Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004 Malta qualified for the Grand Final 8 out of 14 times.

About the author: Neville Spiteri (Malta)

Neville is our correspondent from Malta. He has been following Eurovision since 1999, and has Hero by Charlotte Perrelli as his favorite ESC song

Eurovision News