select year or country
Malta Eurovision

Malta: Here are the 20 semi-finalists

The 20 semi-finalists for January's MESC (Malta Eurovision Song Contest) have been revealed. Semi-final on 22 January 2016. Final on 23 January 2016.

MESC 2016 will be back in January, and tonight the Maltese broadcaster TVM has revealed the 20 semi-finalists. 153 songs were initially received in total, and 49 were selected for the next stage. Out of the 49 candidates only 20 proceeded to the Semi-final of MESC 2016. The top 14 will proceed to the Final.

  • 22 January 2016: MESC 2016 Semi-final
  • 23 January 2016: MESC 2016 Final

The venue will be the Mediterranean Conference Centre in Valletta.

MESC 2016 participants

  • Maxine Pace – "Young Love"
  • Deborah C – "All around the world"
  • Lawrence Gray – "You're Beautiful"
  • Brooke – "Golden"
  • Raquel Galdes – "Flashing Lights"
  • Corazon – "Falling Glass"
  • Kimberly Cortis – "Lighthouse"
  • Jasmine Abela – "Alive"
  • Domenique Azzopardi – "Empty Hearted"
  • Jessika – "The Flame"
  • Daniel Testa – "Under The Sun"
  • Ira Losco – "That's why I Love You"
  • Franklin – "Little Love"
  • Dario Misfud Bonnici – "I Love You"
  • Dominic – "Fire Burn"
  • Danica Muscat – "Front Line"
  • Ira Losco – "Chameleon (Invincible)"
  • Christabelle – "Kingdom"
  • Sarah Crystal – "Right Here With You"
  • Stefan Galea – "Light up my Life"

Rules of MESC 2016

  • Last year's winning artist may not participate as a performer in the Contest.
  • All artists participating in lead role must be of Maltese nationality or hold dual citizenship, one of which Maltese. Authors and composers may be of any nationality.
  • Submissions will be received on 29th and 30th October 2015. In addition to the original song, artists need to submit a recording of another song, which can be a cover version, or a song that has already been published.
  • Twenty songs will be announced in November 2015. The finalists will perform live with backing vocals in the Contest. The panel of Judges will be made up of six judges. Televoting will represent the vote of a seventh judge. Artists will be allowed to interpret two different songs during Part 1 of the Final Phase.
  • Fourteen songs will qualify for the Final Phase – Part 2. Artist will be allowed to interpret one song during Part 2 of the final phase.
  • The winning Artist will be eligible to represent Malta in the forthcoming edition of the Eurovision Song Contest to be held in Sweden in May 2016.
Malta 2015: Amber - "Warrior"

Malta in Eurovision Song Contest

Malta debuted in Eurovision back in 1971 and has been in the contest 28 times since - without a victory. Best result is two runner-up's in 2002 (Ira Losco - "7th Wonder") and 2005 (Chiara - "Angel"). The worst results are the first two years, 1971 and 1972, where they finished last. Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004 Malta qualified for the Grand Final 7 out of 12 times.

Eurovision News