Norway: Rein Alexander wins Semi-final 2 of MGP 2020

Tonight the second Semi-final of the Norwegian Melodi Grand Prix 2020 took place in Norway. Four acts performed live, and one song qualified to the final: Rein Alexander with "One Last Time"

The second Semi-final of Melodi Grand Prix 2020 took place tonight live from H3 Arena in Fornebu, Norway. The winner of the evening was Rein Alexander with the song "One Last Time". Rein Alexander qualifies directly to the Final of MGP on 15 February 2020.

"One Last Time" is written by Erik Smaaland, Kristoffer Tømmerbakke and Rein Alexander.

The focus of this year's MGP will be on artists from all over the country, and every part of Norway will get their own show. Tonight's show had 4 songs representing Eastern Norway.

The four songs were drawn into duels in the start of the show. The winner of the two duels (Rein Alexander and Kim Wigaard & Maria Mohn) battled it out in a gold duel.

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 – Semi-final 2

18 January 2020

Duel 1

  • Tore Petterson – "The Start of Something New"
  • Kim Wigaard & Maria Mohn – "Fool for Love"

Duel 2

  • Jæger – "How About Mars"
  • Rein Alexander – "One Last Time"

Gold Duel

  • Kim Wigaard & Maria Mohn – "Fool for Love"
  • Rein Alexander – "One Last Time"

Melodi Grand Prix 2020

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 will select the artist and song that will represent Norway at Eurovision Song Contest 2020.

A total of six shows take place from 11 January to 15 February 2020:

  • 11 January 2020: Semi-final 1 (winner: Raylee)
  • 18 January 2020: Semi-final 2 (winner: Rein Alexander)
  • 25 January 2020: Semi-final 3 (Central Norway)
  • 1 February 2020: Semi-final 4 (Western Norway)
  • 8 February 2020: Semi-final 5 (Northern Norway)
  • 15 February 2020: MGP 2020 Final

The five Semi-finals all takes place live from H3 Arena in Fornebu, Oslo. There will be four contestants in each of the Semi-finals, where the best from each will qualify to the Final of MGP 2020. The results are decided solely by online voting on during the show.

The Final takes place live from Trondheim Spektrum on 15 February, where the 5 qualifiers from the Semi-finals will compete with 5 pre-qualified songs.

Hosts of all the shows are Kåre Magnus Bergh, Ingrid Gjessing Linhave and Ronny Brede Aase.

Norway in Eurovision Song Contest

Norway 1995: Secret Garden - "Nocturne"

Since the debut in 1960 Norway has participated 58 times in Eurovision. They have won the competition three times:

Norway 1995: Secret Garden - "Nocturne"

In 2009, Alexander Rybak's Fairytale was the song that has received most points with the old voting system: 387 points – got 12 points from 16 countries. But Norway holds another Eurovision record: The country that ended last most times – 10 last places!

Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004, Norway has been very succesful with qualification to the Grand Final 13 out of 16 times.

Eurovision News