Australia 2019: Kate Miller-Heidke

Australia decided: Kate Miller-Heidke to Eurovision 2019 with "Zero Gravity"

With 135 points, Kate Miller-Heidke won Australia's first national final ever. She will sing her song "Zero Gravity" at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv

The first ever Australian national final for Eurovision Song Contest took place this morning live from Gold Coast, Queensland, organised by Australian broadcaster SBS.

Out of the 9 other songs competing in Australia Decides, Miller-Heidke won both the jury vote and the public vote with her song Zero Gravity. The second place was for the duo Electric Fields. The band Sheppard became third. Miller-Heidke's performance included a giant silver dress, and a person dressed in black flying behind her.

Zero Gravity is written by Kate Miller-Heidke herself along with her husband Keir Nuttall.

Australia Decides – Results

  1. Kate Miller-Heidke – "Zero Gravity" (135 points)
  2. Electric Fields – "2000 and Whatever" (114 points)
  3. Sheppard – "On My Way" (87 points)
  4. Courtney Act – "Fight for Love" (52 points)
  5. Alfie Arcuri – "To Myself" (49 points)
  6. Aydan Calafiore – "Dust" (48 points)
  7. Mark Vincent – "This Is Not the End" (38 points)
  8. Tania Doko – "Piece of Me" (23 points)
  9. Leea Nanos – "Set Me Free" (21 points)
  10. Ella Hooper – "Data Dust" (18 points)

Kate Miller-Heidke

Miller-Heidke is an Australian singer-songwriter, who makes pop, folk and opera music. Trained as a classical singer, she played in several operas from New York to Sydney. She played in several Brisbane bands before going solo in 2002.

In 2013, her album O Vertigo! debuted at number 4 on the Australian album charts and was nominated for an ARIA award.

Two of her biggest hits are The Last Day on Earth and Caught In The Crowd.

Eurovision – Australia Decides

The Australian broadcaster SBS has – for the first time – hosted a live national contest for selecting the Australian artist and song for Eurovision Song Contest. The previous four artists and songs have been selected internally.

The Australian national selection for Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv is called "Eurovision - Australia Decides". The contest was held at the Gold Coast, Queensland, and included a series of live performance shows on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 February. A Live Show was broadcast on SBS on Saturday 9 February, where the decision was made by the Australian public and a jury.

The show was hosted by radio host, presenter and music buff Myf Warhurst, and comedian Joel Creasey.

Australia in Eurovision Song Contest

Australia has participated in Eurovision Song Contest 4 times.

At Eurovision 2015 Australia was represented by Guy Sebastian and finished 5th in the Grand Final with the song Tonight Again. Australia was granted a wildcard, with the right to vote in both semi-finals, and with a secured place in the Grand Final.

Australia 2016: Dami Im - "Sound of Silence"

At Eurovision Song Contest 2016 Dami Im represented Australia and finished 2nd with the song "Sound of Silence". Best result so far.

Australia qualified for the Grand Final 3 out of 3 times.

About the author: Sjoerd Gillissen (The Netherlands)

authorSjoerd (20) is our correspondent from The Netherlands. He studies journalism, and became interested in the Eurovision Song Contest after he saw Loreen's performance back in 2012. This is his favourite song so far, but he also adores 'Calm After The Storm' (The Netherlands, 2014), 'Fuego' (Cyprus 2018) and 'Waterloo' (Sweden 1974).

Eurovision News