Eurovision 2020 Semi-final allocation

Eurovision 2020: Who's in which Semi-final?

See the result of the Semi-final allocation draw for Eurovision Song Contest 2020. The draw determined which country will perform in which of the two Semi-finals

The allocation draw took place on 28 January 2020 at Rotterdam City Hall. Hosts were Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Janzen and Jan Smit – the same hosts for Eurovision 2020 in May.

Facts about the allocation draw

  • 41 countries participate in Eurovision Song Contest 2020
  • 6 of the countries are pre-qualified for the Grand Final (Big-5 and Netherlands)
  • There will be 17 countries in (Big-5 and Netherlands) were also drawn to decide in which Semi-final these countries will vote
  • The final running order will be decided later by the Dutch producer and broadcaster, and approved by EBU

Allocation Draw Pots

Eurovision 2020: Allocation Draw
Photo: Stijn Smulders

To ensure a fair voting and competition, the 35 countries have been distributed into 5 Draw Pots, based on the voting pattern to avoid too much neighbour voting.

  1. Albania, Austria, Croatia, North Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland,
  2. Australia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden
  3. Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Ukraine
  4. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino
  5. Belgium, Czech Republic, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland
Eurovision 2020: Allocation Draw
Photo: Stijn Smulders

How was the draw made?

The draw was divided into two parts:

Eurovision 2020: Big-5 and host

1: Which pre-qualified countries vote in which Semi-final?

  • The first part determined which of the six pre-qualified countries (Big 5: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, UK, and host: Netherlands) will broadcast and vote in which of the two Semi-finals.
Eurovision 2020: Big-5 and host

2: Who's in which Semi-final?

  • The second part determined in which of the two Semi-finals (and in which half) each country will compete in
  • The first five countries for Semi-final 1 were drawn: From each of the five allocation draw pots, a country was drawn, and after each country, a second draw determined if the country will perform in the first half or in the second half of Semi-final 1
  • The first five countries for Semi-final 2 were then drawn (same recipe as the five for Semi-final 1)
  • This continued until each of the 35 countries had been allocated to one of the two Semi-finals

Host Insignia Exchange

Before the allocation draw the Host Insignia Exchange took place at Rotterdam City Hall. Zippi Brand Frank, Deputy Mayor of Tel Aviv handed over the Host City Insignia to Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayor of Rotterdam.

Eurovision News