Finland UMK 2017 Online Voting
The result of the online voting for UMK 2017

Finland UMK 2017: Emma wins online voting

The result of the online voting is revealed: Emma's "Circle of Light" won the online voting with a large margin. The online voting for Finland's Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) 2017 counts in the final result of UMK

The online voting for this year's Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) 2017 in Finland ended today, and the result has been revealed by the Finnish broadcaster YLE. The online voting was open for Finnish citizens from 2 January to 26 January 2017.

The national selection in Finland, UMK 2017, will be held on Saturday at 20:00 CET, and streamed live on

The winner of UMK 2017 will be determined by 50% public voting (online voting and televoting during the show), and 50% international juries.

UMK 2017 – Running Order & Online Voting Results

  1. Emma – "Circle of Light" (30,4%)
  2. Alva – "Arrows" (5,9%)
  3. Günther & D'Sanz – "Love Yourself" (8,4%)
  4. Anni Saikku – "Reach Out for the Sun" (3,8%)
  5. Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La Rubies – "Caveman" (4,7%)
  6. Norma John – "Blackbird" (8,3%)
  7. Lauri Yrjölä – "Helppo elämä" (4,1%)
  8. Club La Persé – "My Little World" (6,9%)
  9. Zühlke – "Perfect Villain" (12,5%)
  10. My First Band – "Paradise" (15,0%)

UMK 2017 – Music Videos

Emma – "Circle of light"
Alva – "Arrows"
Günther & D'Sanz – "Love Yourself"
Anni Saikku – "Reach out for the sun"
Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La Rubies – "Caveman"
Norma John – "Blackbird"
Lauri Yrjölä – "Helppo elämä"
Club La Perse – "My little world"
Zühlke – "Perfect Villain"
My First Band – "Paradise"

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2017

Since the first UMK in 2012 there have been some changes to the format. The biggest change for UMK 2017 is that there will be no semi-finals. Instead there will be ten participants who will compete only once on 28 January 2017 live from Metro Arena in Helsinki. UMK 2017 will be hosted by Krista Siegfrieds (Finland 2013).

The winner will be chosen by 50% public voting (online voting and televoting) and 50% international juries.

The International juries are from Estonia, France, Iceland, Israel, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

Finland in Eurovision Song Contest

Finland 2013: Krista Siegfrids - "Marry Me"

Finland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has participated ever since, except for six years, mostly because of last years bad position. The country has won the competition once, in 2006 with the song "Hard Rock Hallelujah", performed by Lordi. Since then Finland's best result is 11th place in 2014. Since the introductions of semi-finals in 2004, Finland has qualified for the Grand Final 7 out of 13 times.

Eurovision News