Norway 2020: Magnus Bokn
Photo: NRK

Norway: Magnus Bokn wins Semi-final 4 of MGP 2020

Tonight the fourth Semi-final of the Norwegian Melodi Grand Prix 2020 took place in Norway. Four acts performed live, and one song qualified to the final: Magnus Bokn with "Over the Sea"

The fourth Semi-final of Melodi Grand Prix took place tonight live from H3 Arena in Fornebu, Norway. The winner of the evening was Magnus Bokn with the song "Over the Sea". Magnus Bokn qualifies directly to the Final of MGP on 15 February 2020.

"Over the Sea" is written by Alexander Rybak, Joakim With Steen and Magnus Bokn.

The focus of this year's MGP will be on artists from all over the country, and every part of Norway will get their own show. Tonight's show had 4 songs representing Western Norway.

The four songs were drawn into duels in the start of the show. The winner of the two duels (Magnus Bokn and Nordic Tenors) battled it out in a gold duel.

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 – Semi-final 4

1 February 2020

Duel 1

  • Magnus Bokn – "Over the Sea"
  • Oda Loves You – "Love Who We Love"

Duel 2

  • Nordic Tenors – "In This Special Place"
  • Hege Bjerk – "Pang"

Gold Duel

  • Magnus Bokn – "Over the Sea"
  • Nordic Tenors – "In This Special Place"

Melodi Grand Prix 2020

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 will select the artist and song that will represent Norway at Eurovision Song Contest 2020.

A total of six shows take place from 11 January to 15 February 2020:

  • 11 January 2020: Semi-final 1 (winner: Raylee)
  • 18 January 2020: Semi-final 2 (winner: Rein Alexander)
  • 25 January 2020: Semi-final 3 (winner: Kristin Husøy)
  • 1 February 2020: Semi-final 4 (winner: Magnus Bokn)
  • 8 February 2020: Semi-final 5 (Northern Norway)
  • 15 February 2020: MGP 2020 Final

The five Semi-finals all takes place live from H3 Arena in Fornebu, Oslo. There will be four contestants in each of the Semi-finals, where the best from each will qualify to the Final of MGP 2020. The results are decided solely by online voting on during the show.

The Final takes place live from Trondheim Spektrum on 15 February, where the 5 qualifiers from the Semi-finals will compete with 5 pre-qualified songs.

Hosts of all the shows are Kåre Magnus Bergh, Ingrid Gjessing Linhave and Ronny Brede Aase.

Norway in Eurovision Song Contest

Norway 2009: Alexander Rybak - "Fairytale"

Since the debut in 1960 Norway has participated 58 times in Eurovision. They have won the competition three times:

Norway 2009: Alexander Rybak - "Fairytale"

In 2009, Alexander Rybak's Fairytale was the song that has received most points with the old voting system: 387 points – got 12 points from 16 countries. But Norway holds another Eurovision record: The country that ended last most times – 10 last places!

Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004, Norway has been very succesful with qualification to the Grand Final 13 out of 16 times.

Eurovision News