Finland: Norma John wins UMK 2017

The band Norma John wins the Finnish Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) 2017 with the song "Blackbird". Norma John will represent Finland at Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv

The sixth edition of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) was held tonight in Espoo Metro Areena, Finland. 10 songs competed, and in the end it was Norma John with the song "Blackbird" who got most votes, and won the ticket to Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv. Their song Blackbird is written by Lasse Piirainen and Leena Tirronen - or better known as Norma John.

Emma was the clear favorite to win UMK 2017 since the songs were revealed. Both among bookmakers, polls and she also won the online voting for UMK.

The band Norma John won both the international jury and the public votes.

Norma John – "Blackbird" (music video)

Norma John's victory was determined by 50% public voting (online voting and televoting during the show), and 50% international juries.

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2017 – Results

Finland UMK 2017 result
Final scoreboard
  1. Norma John – "Blackbird" (182 points)
  2. Zühlke – "Perfect Villain" (145 points)
  3. Emma – "Circle of Light" (106 points)
  4. My First Band – "Paradise" (97 points)
  5. Günther & D'Sanz – "Love Yourself" (82 points)
  6. Alva – "Arrows" (63 points)
  7. Anni Saikku – "Reach Out for the Sun" (59 points)
  8. Lauri Yrjölä – "Helppo elämä" (58 points)
  9. Club La Persé – "My Little World" (50 points)
  10. Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La Rubies – "Caveman" (18 points)

Norma John

Lasse Piirainen and Leena Tirronen have known each other since high school, and together they form the indie pop duo with the name Norma John.

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2017

Since the first UMK in 2012 there have been some changes to the format. The biggest change for UMK 2017 is that there were no semi-finals. Instead the ten participants competed only once on 28 January 2017 live from Espoo Metro Areena. UMK 2017 was hosted by Krista Siegfrieds (Finland 2013).

The winner was determined by 50% public voting (online voting and televoting) and 50% international juries.

The International juries were from Estonia, France, Iceland, Israel, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

Finland in Eurovision Song Contest

Finland 2013: Krista Siegfrids - "Marry Me"

Finland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has participated ever since, except for six years, mostly because of last years bad position. The country has won the competition once, in 2006 with the song "Hard Rock Hallelujah", performed by Lordi. Since then Finland's best result is 11th place in 2014. Since the introductions of semi-finals in 2004, Finland has qualified for the Grand Final 7 out of 13 times.

Eurovision News