Georgia: Young Georgian Lolitaz will sing "Midnight Gold" in Stockholm

The song for the Young Georgian Lolitaz has been decided. Televoters and an international jury chose the song "Midnight Gold" for the band, who will represent Georgia in Stockholm

The Georgian Public Broadcaster, GPB, has already selected their representative for Eurovision Song Contest 2016 in Stockholm: Nika Kocharov and the "Young Georgian Lolitaz" (იანგ ჯორჯიან ლოლიტაზ). The broadcaster has returned to an internal selection after last year's national selection.

Tonight the song for Young Georgian Lolitaz has been revealed: They will sing "Midnight Gold" in Stockholm. The song is written by Kote Kalandadze.

Songs for Young Georgian Lolitaz

  • Midnight Gold (written by Kote Kalandadze)
  • Right Of Wrong (written by Sandro Sulakvelidze)
  • Pain In My Heart (written by Giorgi Sikharulidze)
  • Sugar And Milk (written by Gia Iashvili)
  • Weagree (written by Nika Kocharov and Vazha Marri)

The song "Midnight Gold" was decided by televoting and an international jury (50/50). The 5 songs were chosen out of more than 100 submissions. The international jury consisted of Andy Mikheev, Christer Björkman, Sasha Jean Baptiste, and Marvin Dietmann.

Follow Young Georgian Lolitaz

Georgia in Eurovision Song Contest

Georgia 2015: Nina Sublatti - "Warrior"

Georgia has participated in Eurovision eight times since its debut in 2007, with the best result in 2010 and 2011 (9th place), and the worst result in 2014 (came last in Semi-final 2). Georgia manage to qualify to the Grand Final 6 out of 8 times.

The only year Georgia didn't participate was in 2009. They decided to send the song "We Don't Wanna Put In" to Moscow 2009, but because of a controversy about the lyrics in the song, EBU banned the song from participating, if the lyrics was not changed. GPB refused to change the lyrics, and withdrew from the contest.

Eurovision News