Grande Prémio TV da Canção Portuguesa 1970

Eurovision 1970 boycott

Austria, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Portugal and Sweden boycotted Eurovision 1970 because of the voting system. At Eurovision 1969 4 countries had been declared winner: Netherlands, Spain, France and United Kingdom, meaning that 25% of the participants won in 1969.

Many countries demanded a change of the voting system after this incident but the EBU didn't change anything.


Grande Prémio TV da Canção Portuguesa 1970

Date22 May 1970
LocationCinema Monumental
HostsMaria Fernanda
Carlos Cruz
Voting100% jury

Eurovision News