Australia Decided: Montaigne wins ticket to Eurovision 2020

The second ever Australia Decides has just determined that Montaigne will represent Australia at this year's Eurovision in Rotterdam with the song "Don't Break Me"

The Eurovision fans were up early this Saturday to watch Australia's national selection, Australia Decides. Ten acts had been previously announced and today was the day to give their best shot at winning the contest.

Australian broadcaster SBS made the jury rehearsal performances available a day before (7 February) and opened the lines for the public vote as well.

When all the votes from the public and jury were counted, it was official that Montaigne will go to Rotterdam and wave the Australian flag in front of Europe, while singing Don't Break Me.

Australia 2020: Montaigne - "Don't Break Me"

Don't Break Me is written by Montaigne herself, together with Anthony Egizii and David Musumeci, who also wrote the Australian song in 2016 (Sound of Silence), 2017 (Don't Come Easy) and 2018 (We Got Love).

Australia Decides 2020 – Result


Jessica Alyssa Cerro - better known as Montaigne onstage - was born in Sydney, Australia in 1995. As her real name suggests, her roots are a mix of Argentina, Spain, France and the Philippines.

As for her stage name, it was inspired by the 16th century philosopher Michel de Montaigne.

Montaigne's breakthrough takes us back to 2014 when she released her first single, EP and signed a record deal. Her second single, "I'm a Fantastic Wreck", ended up being one of the most played songs of that year. In 2015, she headlined her first national tour.

It was only in 2016 that the Australian singer released "Glorious Heights", her first studio album. On that same year she won the ARIA award for Breakthrough Artist.

From that moment on, Montaigne spent the next years releasing new music. Her sophomore studio album dropped on August 2019 and reached the top 20 of the Australian Album Chart.

The show

Hosted by comedian Joel Creasey and TV personality Myf Warhurst, Australia Decides came back to the country's Gold Coast in Queensland.

Besides the ten competing songs, there were a few surprises saved for the show. Kate Miller-Heidke opened it with a new version of her Eurovision entry "Zero Gravity" and later on Dami Im performed her song "Marching On".

In between there was a special announcement by Conchita Wurst (Austria 2014) who is performing soon in Australia.

Eurovision 2015 winner, Måns Zelmerlöw was also a special guest and a main focus of the show. The singer performed his Eurovision song, "Heroes", a duet with Dami Im of "Walk With Me" and was part of the jury panel.

Dami Im revealed after her performance, that she wants to compete in Australia Decides 2021.

As explained above both the jury and the public had an equal saying on who would represent Australia at Eurovision 2020.

Australia in Eurovision Song Contest

Australia 2019: Kate Miller-Heidke - "Zero Gravity"

Australia has participated in Eurovision Song Contest 5 times.

At Eurovision 2015 Australia was represented by Guy Sebastian and finished 5th in the Grand Final with the song Tonight Again. Australia was granted a wildcard, with the right to vote in both semi-finals, and with a secured place in the Grand Final.

Australia 2019: Kate Miller-Heidke - "Zero Gravity"

At Eurovision Song Contest 2016 Dami Im represented Australia and finished 2nd with the song "Sound of Silence". Best result so far.

Australia qualified for the Grand Final 4 out of 4 times.

About the author: Pedro Santos (Portugal)

authorPedro comes from Lisbon, Portugal. He's 30 years old and graduated in journalism. He has attended Eurovision Song Contest three times live - 2018, 2019 and 2022 - and covered the show twice more (2021, 2023) but his first Eurovision memory takes him back to 2007 when Sarbel delivered his catchy "Yassou Maria" performance. Pedro's favorite Eurovision song is Albania's 2015 "I'm Alive" by Elhaida Dani which is also his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News