Australia Decides 2020

Eurovision – Australia Decides: Selection show returns in 2020

Australia's selection show for Eurovision Song Contest returns in February 2020. The show will again be called "Eurovision - Australia Decides", and will be "bigger than ever"

They were only meant to participate in 2015 to celebrate Eurovision Song Contest's 60th anniversary, but the celebration seems to continue for the sixth year in a row.

In 2015 Australia was granted a wildcard and invited to participate – but only once, according to EBU. In 2016 Australia again joined the Eurovision family because of the " we got from viewers, fans, press and the broadcasters...". In 2017 Isaiah Firebrace's Don't Come Easy amused the juries in Europe, and in 2018 Jessica Mauboy was the 4th Australian contestants with We Got Love. This year, Kate Miller-Heidke was flying on stage with Zero Gravity.

Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020

The Aussie broadcaster SBS and the production partner Blink TV have announced that the selection show for Eurovision Song Contest will be back. "Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020" will return to the Gold Coast on 8 February 2020.

The show will again be hosted by Joel Creasey and Myf Warhurst.

SBS Commissioning Editor for Entertainment, Josh Martin, says:

– Following on from Kate Miller-Heidke’s history-making performance in 2019, I cannot wait to see who Australia will choose to represent us in 2020 and the first step on this journey is submitting a song.

– With a truly diverse and inclusive line up, the inaugural Eurovision – Australia Decides was a great success – and we want this one to be bigger and better than ever!

Submit your song

SBS is calling on songwriters across Australia, of all ages and at all stages in their careers, to submit an original composition for consideration. They've launched a song submission portal, which is open until 30 September 2019.

Composers and songwriters can submit as many songs as they like, but the songs will be shortlisted and paired with some of Australia's most recognised artists.

Songs must:

  • be an original work
  • have a duration no longer than 3 minutes and a minimum of 2 minutes
  • not have been made publicly available
  • include vocals
  • be submitted between 30 September 2019

Australia in Eurovision Song Contest

Australia 2019: Kate Miller-Heidke - "Zero Gravity"

Australia has participated in Eurovision Song Contest 5 times.

At Eurovision 2015 Australia was represented by Guy Sebastian and finished 5th in the Grand Final with the song Tonight Again. Australia was granted a wildcard, with the right to vote in both semi-finals, and with a secured place in the Grand Final.

Australia 2019: Kate Miller-Heidke - "Zero Gravity"

At Eurovision Song Contest 2016 Dami Im represented Australia and finished 2nd with the song "Sound of Silence". Best result so far.

Australia qualified for the Grand Final 4 out of 4 times.

Eurovision News