Denmark 2018: Rasmussen

Denmark: Rasmussen wins Melodi Grand Prix 2018

The Danish Melodi Grand Prix was held tonight with Rasmussen as the winner and Denmarks representative at Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon

Denmark held it's national selection "Melodi Grand Prix 2018" tonight, selecting the Danish entrant for this year's Eurovision Song Contest: The viking Rasmussen with the song "Higher Ground", written by Niclas Arn and Karl Eurén.

Melodi Grand Prix 2018 took place in the arena Gigantium in Aalborg with 10 competing acts. Three songs advanced to the super-final: Rasmussen, Anna Ritsmar and Albin Fredy. The result was decided by 50% fan jury and 50% public voting over two rounds.

Melodi Grand Prix 2018 - Result

  1. Rasmussen – "Higher Ground" (50% of the votes in the super-final)
  2. Anna Ritsmar – "Starlight" (31% of the votes in the super-final)
  3. Albin Fredy – "Music for the Road" (19% of the votes in the super-final)
  • Carlsen – "Standing Up for Love"
  • Ditte Marie – "Riot"
  • KARUI – "Signals"
  • Lasse Meling – "Unfound"
  • Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – "Holder fast i ingenting"
  • Sandra – "Angels to My Battlefield"
  • Sannie – "Boys on Girls"


Jonas Flodager Rasmussen, or just Rasmussen, is 32 years old from Jutland, Denmark.

He has been studying dramaturgy and musical studies from the university of Aarhus.

Rasmussen has been in several concerts for honoring names as Elton John and ABBA. He's the lead singer in the band Hair Metal Heröes, performing covers of some of the greatest hits from the 80s. He has also been on the musical scene in West Side Story, Rent and Les Misérables.

Melodi Grand Prix 2018

The Danish Melodi Grand Prix 2018 took place in Gigantium in Aalborg on 10 February 2018. The winner, Rasmussen, will represent Denmark at Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon. Hosts of MGP 2018 were Annette Heick (MGP 2007) and Johannes Nymark (part of Lighthouse X, Denmark 2016). Among the special guest appearances was Conchita Wurst (Austria 2014).

In Melodi Grand Prix 2018 there were two rounds of voting: The first round where all 10 songs  performed, and the top-3 proceeded to a super final, where another voting took place. For the second time a special fan jury had 50% weight on the outcome.

Denmark in Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark 2000: Olsen brothers - "Fly On The Wings Of Love"

Denmark has been participating in Eurovision Song Contest 46 times. Since its debut in 1957, Denmark has won the contest 3 times:

  • 1963: Dansevise
  • 2000: Fly On The Wings Of Love
  • 2013: Only Teardrops

Worst result was in 2002 (last). Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in Eurovision in 2004, Denmark has qualified for the Grand Final 10 out of 14 times.

Eurovision News