Photo: DR

Denmark: The girl-punk-rock-band Reddi wins Melodi Grand Prix 2022

Denmark's Melodi Grand Prix 2022 was held tonight with eight songs fighting for the throne. The Danish representative at Eurovision Song Contest 2022 will be Reddi with the song "The Show"

Denmark held its national selection Melodi Grand Prix 2022 tonight from Boxen Arena in Herning.

After almost two hours and eight songs, all the focus was on the girl-punk-rock-band Reddi and their song "The Show" that will compete for Denmark at Eurovision Song Contest 2022 in Turin.

Three songs from the 8 competing acts advanced to the Superfinal, determined solely by the public viewers via app/SMS throughout the week and during the show: Reddi, Conf3ssions and Josie Elinor & Jack Warren. In the Superfinal it was again entirely the votes from the Danish public that selected Reddi as the winners.

Denmark 2022: Reddi – "The Show"

"The Show" is written by Chief 1, Ihan Haydar, Julia Fabrin, Remee Jackman and Siggy Savery.

Melodi Grand Prix 2022

First round



The girl-punk-rock-band Reddi consists of Ihan Haydar (drums), Siggy Savery (lyrics and guitar) and the two Swedes Agnes Roslund (guitar) and Ida Bergkvist (bass). It's a quite new constellation with the four girls coming from four different musical backgrounds.

The drummer Ihan Haydar has a background in the Danish band L.I.G.A, and has actually been on the Eurovision stage before. She was the drummer in Eurovision 2012, when Soluna Samay represented Denmark with "Should've Known Better".

The band is influenced by the 70's punk and the simple rock from the 80's, combined with the inspiration of names from the 90's like Pink, Katy Perry and Green Day.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2022

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2022 took place on Saturday 5 March live from Boxen Arena in Herning.

The voting already started five days before the show. From Monday 28 February to Friday 4 March people could cast one vote on each song every day in the official DR Grand Prix app. The votes were added to the votes received during Saturday's show (App/SMS), and the three best songs (Reddi, Conf3ssions and Josie Elinor & Jack Warren) proceeded to the Superfinal. Here the votes were reset, and a new voting among the three superfinalists decided the Danish song for Eurovision Song Contest 2022.

The show was again hosted by Martin Brygmann and Tina Müller.

Denmark in Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark 2013: Emmelie de Forest - "Only Teardrops"

Denmark has been participating in Eurovision Song Contest 49 times. Since its debut in 1957, Denmark has won the contest 3 times:

  • 1963: Dansevise
  • 2000: Fly On The Wings Of Love
  • 2013: Only Teardrops
Denmark 2013: Emmelie de Forest - "Only Teardrops"

Worst result was in 2002 (last). Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in Eurovision in 2004, Denmark has qualified for the Grand Final 12 out of 17 times.

Eurovision News