Lithuania 2022: Justė Kraujelytė
Justė Kraujelytė won Semi-final 1 (Photo: E. Blaževič / LRT)

Lithuania: First finalists of Pabandom iš naujo 2022 selected

The first four finalists of Lithuania's Pabandom iš naujo 2022 have been chosen. Four more will be selected next week and on 12 February one will be selected to represent Lithuania at Eurovision 2022

Lithuania is one step closer of finding out who will follow-up The Roop's (Lithuania 2022) steps and represent the country at Eurovision 2022.

The long journey of Pabandom iš naujo 2022 continued today with the first Semi-final and, similarly to the show's first three heats, it was previously recorded and concluded with the selection of the first four finalists.

The show took place in LRT's studios, in Vilnius, and was hosted by Giedrius Masalskis and Ieva Stasiulevičiūtė. Richardas Jonaitis was also part of the presentation as he moderated the jury panel.

Pabandom iš naujo 2022 – Semi-final 1

The results were split between the public decision (50%) and the jury decision (50%), composed by:

  • Darius Užkuraitis
  • Ramunas Zilnys
  • Ieva Narkutė
  • Gerūta Griniūtė
  • Vytautas Bikus

Pabandom iš naujo 2022

The Lithuanian selection for Eurovision 2022, Pabandom iš naujo (English: "Let's Try Again"), will consist of six shows:

  • 8 January 2022: Heat 1
  • 15 January 2022: Heat 2
  • 22 January 2022: Heat 3
  • 29 January 2022: Semi-final 1
  • 5 February 2022: Semi-final 2
  • 12 February 2022: Final

Giedrius Masalskis, Ieva Stasiulevičiūtė and Richardas Jonaitis will be in charge of hosting the shows.

Lithuania in Eurovision Song Contest

Lithuania has been taking part of Eurovision Song Contest 21 times since its debut in 1994.

The debuting year 1994 Lithuania ended last, and the best result is from 2006 where LT United performed the iconic song "We Are The Winners (of Eurovision)". It didn't win though, but went 6th.

Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004, Lithuania has been in Eurovision every year and qualified for the Grand Final 10 out of 17 times.

With both Estonias victory in 2001 (Everybody) and Latvias victory in 2002 (I Wanna), Lithuania is the only Baltic country that haven't won Eurovision Song Contest.

About the author: Pedro Santos (Portugal)

authorPedro comes from Lisbon, Portugal. He's 30 years old and graduated in journalism. He has attended Eurovision Song Contest three times live - 2018, 2019 and 2022 - and covered the show twice more (2021, 2023) but his first Eurovision memory takes him back to 2007 when Sarbel delivered his catchy "Yassou Maria" performance. Pedro's favorite Eurovision song is Albania's 2015 "I'm Alive" by Elhaida Dani which is also his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News