Switzerland 2017: Timebelle

Switzerland: Timebelle to Eurovision 2017

The band "Timebelle", with Mira in front will represent Switzerland at Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv with the song "Apollo", after they won the Swiss selection Entscheidungsshow tonight

Tonight the show "ESC 2017 – Die Entscheidungsshow" took place in Zurich, Switzerland, with six contestants competing to be the Swiss representative at Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine.

At tonight's show Sebalter ( Switzerland 2014) made a guest appearance singing his new song "Weeping Willow", but it was Timebelle who were in the spotlight tonight, when they won Entscheidungsshow 2017 with the song "Apollo". The song is written by Elias Näslin, Nicolas Günthardt and Alessandra Günthardt.

Timebelle – "Apollo"

Now I will never let you go
All the words won't make me fold
It is never easy
I'll follow you, Apollo

Lyrics of "Apollo" by Timebelle

Entscheidungsshow 2017 – Result

  1. Timebelle – "Apollo" (47.9% of the votes)
  2. Nadya – "The Fire in the Sky" (18%)
  3. Michèle – "Two Faces" (11.4%)
  4. Ginta Biku – "Cet air là" (8.3%)
  5. Shana Pearson – "Exodus" (7.6%)
  6. Freschta – "Gold" (6.8%)


Timebelle is a Swiss band consists of Miruna Manescu ("Mira"), Samuel Forster and Emanuel Daniel Andriescu. The band is currently having their base in Bern, Switzerland, but their background is very mixed: The front singer Miruna is 27 years old and comes from Romania. The remaining band members are Emanuel from Romania and Samuel from Eastern Switzerland.

The name Timebelle is a from the "Zytglogge" in Bern, the landmark Clock Tower of the very town, where the musicians met during their studies at the Bern University of the Arts.

Timebelle went to the final of Entscheidungsshow 2015 where they finished 2nd with the song "Singing About Love". They didn't win the ticket to Vienna back then, but tonight they won the ticket to Kyiv 2017 instead with the song "Apollo".

Follow Timebelle

Facebook: @timebelle
YouTube: timebelle
Instagram; @timebelle
Twitter: @timebelleband

ESC 2017 – Die Entscheidungsshow

"ESC 2017 – Die Entscheidungsshow" was held on 5 February 2017, at SRF's Studio 1 in Zurich. Here the six finalists fought for the honor of representing Switzerland at Eurovision Song Contest 2017. In the liveshow, the TV audience solely decided via televoting the Swiss representative in Kyiv.

Prior to Die Entscheidungsshow there was a Live Check Audition, where 20 candidates performed in from of an expert panel, who judged the candidates on criteria such as live performance skills, voice quality and stage presence. Six candidates were chosen to proceed to the final on 5 February 2017.

Entscheidungsshow 2017 was hosted by Sven Epiney, who has been the Swiss German Eurovision commentator for SRF since 2008. He was joined in the Green Room by comedian Stefan Büsser. The show was broadcast and organized by the Swiss national broadcaster, Swiss Broadcasting Corporation (SRG SSR), formed by the Swiss-German broadcaster (SRF), the Swiss-French broadcaster (RTS), the Swiss-Italian broadcaster (RSI) and the Swiss-Romansh broadcaster (RTR).

Switzerland in Eurovision Song Contest

Switzerland 1988 | Céline Dion - "Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi"

Switzerland has been in Eurovision Song Contest since it's beginning in 1956 - in Switzerland. And the winner of the first very Eurovision Song Contest was... Lys Assia from Switzerland with the song "Refrain". Since then, Switzerland won the 1988-contest by an, back then, unknown girl, Céline Dion with the song "Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi" (only ONE point to number two, United Kingdom). A Star was born.

Since then, Switzerland haven't had huge succes in Eurovision. Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004, Switzerland only managed to qualify for the Grand Final 4 out of 13 tries. Switzerland is a proud member of "Club Zero", with four contests without any points.

Eurovision News