Finland UMK 2020 artists
Photo: Yle / Mona Salminen

Finland: Here are the songs for UMK 2020

All the six songs for Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2020 have been released by the Finnish broadcaster YLE. Listen to the songs, and vote in our poll: Who wins UMK 2020?

The six artists for Finland's national selection for Eurovision 2020, Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) were revealed last Tuesday, and the last days, the Finnish broadcaster YLE released a new song every day.

All the six songs have now been released, and in just one week we will know the winner of the ninth edition of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu.

The six songs were selected from 426 submitted songs, by a ten-member expert panel appointed by YLE, to perform live and to compete for a place in Rotterdam.

UMK 2020 – Entries

  • Aksel Kankaanranta – "Looking Back"
  • Catharina Zühlke – "Eternity"
  • Erika Vikman – "Cicciolina"
  • F3M – "Bananas"
  • Sansa – "Lover View"
  • Tika – "I Let My Heart Break"

UMK 2020 – Songs

Aksel Kankaanranta – "Looking Back"
Catharina Zühlke – "Eternity"
Erika Vikman – "Cicciolina"
F3M – "Bananas"
Sansa – "Lover View"
Tika – "I Let My Heart Break"

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2020

This year's UMK will take place on 7 March 2020 at Mediapolis in Tampere, where six acts will compete. The winner will be selected by a 50/50 combination of public/jury votes.

Krista Siegfrieds, Finland's Eurovision representative in 2013, will host the contest for the fifth time, and Ville "Viki" Eerikkilä and Juuso "Köpi" Kallio will host the Green Room.

Finland's recent record has not been the greatest: Darude finished last in the semifinal one of the very last contest, and although Saara Aalto managed to qualify after breaking a three-year streak of non-qualifications for Finland, she came second-to-last in the Grand Final of Eurovision 2018.

In last June, it was announced that the Finnish broadcaster was opting back to the classic format of their national selection, regarding their recent failed attempts.

Finland in Eurovision Song Contest

Finland 2018: Saara Aalto - "Monsters"

Finland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has participated ever since, except for six years, mostly because of previous years' bad position.

Finland 2018: Saara Aalto - "Monsters"

The country has won the competition once, in 2006 with the song "Hard Rock Hallelujah", performed by Lordi.

Since then Finland's best result is 11th place in 2014.

Since the introductions of semi-finals in 2004, Finland has qualified for the Grand Final half of the 16 times.

About the author: João Barateiro (Portugal)

João has watched his first show in 2009, but he has become a fan recently. He has a very unpredictable taste and he is easily influenced by a way a song is performed live and by the way it is staged. Albania and Norway are his favourite ESC countries.

Eurovision News