Denmark 2020 Finalists Melodi Grand Prix
Photo: Agnete Schlichtkrull / DR

Denmark: First three finalists for Melodi Grand Prix 2020 selected

Denmark's selection for Eurovision Song Contest 2020, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, will be divided into two parts: A Semi-final (online), and a Final (live show). Today the three first finalists for MGP have been revealed

The first step of the Danish selection for Eurovision 2020 has concluded, with the first three finalists announced. Nine songs have been competing since Monday in the online Semi-final, where people in Denmark could vote online for their favourite song, allocated into three regional votings.

The three regional winners – and finalists for MGP 2020 – are Kenny Duerlund, Ben & Tan and Sander Sanchez.

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 – Semi-final results


Southern Denmark

  1. Kenny Duerlund – "Forget It All"
  • Jamie Talbot – "Bye Bye Heaven"
  • Nick Jones – "2AM"

Eastern Denmark

  1. Ben & Tan – "Yes"
  • SamSara – "For You"
  • Søren Okholm – "Impossible Dreamers"

Northern Denmark

  1. Sander Sanchez – "Screens"
  • Emil – "Ville ønske jeg havde kendt dig"
  • MieLou – "We Could Be So Beautiful"

A regional jury will select another two finalists (wildcards), among the remaining six songs that didn't qualify from the online voting. Next Friday, 31 January, the two wildcards will be revealed along with five pre-qualified finalists. Their songs will also be released on Friday.

Kenny Duerlund – "Forget It All"
Ben & Tan – "Yes"
Sander Sanchez – "Screens"

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 – Final


The Final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 will be held on 7 March in Royal Arena, Copenhagen. Hosts are Hella Joof and Rasmus Bjerg, and for the first time since 1999, a live orchestra will be used in the Melodi Grand Prix.

At the Final of Melodi Grand Prix 2020 there will be a total of 10 songs:

  • Kenny Duerlund – "Forget It All" (Semi-final winner: Southern Denmark)
  • Ben & Tan – "Yes" (Semi-final winner: Eastern Denmark)
  • Sander Sanchez – "Screens" (Semi-final winner: Northern Denmark)
  • Semi-final: Wildcard (regional jury selection)
  • Semi-final: Wildcard (regional jury selection)
  • Pre-qualified
  • Pre-qualified
  • Pre-qualified
  • Pre-qualified
  • Pre-qualified

The 2 wildcards and the 5 pre-qualified songs will be selected by a selection committee formed by the Danish broadcaster Danmarks Radio (DR). These artists and songs will be revealed on 31 January.

Melodi Grand Prix 2020 – Calendar

  • 20 January: Semi-final online voting starts
  • 24 January: Semi-final online voting ends
  • 24 January: Semi-final online results revealed
  • 31 January: 2 Wildcards revealed
  • 31 January: Pre-qualified finalists' songs released
  • 7 March: Melodi Grand Prix 2020

Denmark in Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark has been participating in Eurovision Song Contest 48 times. Since its debut in 1957, Denmark has won the contest 3 times:

  • 1963: Dansevise
  • 2000: Fly On The Wings Of Love
  • 2013: Only Teardrops

Worst result was in 2002 (last). Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in Eurovision in 2004, Denmark has qualified for the Grand Final 12 out of 16 times.

Eurovision News