Denmark: Leonora wins Melodi Grand Prix 2019

The Danish Melodi Grand Prix was held tonight with Leonora as the winner and Denmark's representative at Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv

Denmark held its national selection "Melodi Grand Prix 2019" tonight, selecting the Danish entrant for this year's Eurovision Song Contest: Leonora with the song Love Is Forever.

Melodi Grand Prix 2019 took place in the Boxen arena in Herning with 10 competing acts. Three songs advanced to the super-final: Leonora, Julie & Nina and Sigmund. The result was decided by 50% fan jury and 50% public voting over two rounds.

Denmark 2019: Leonora – "Love Is Forever"

Love Is Forever is written by Lise Cabble, Melanie Wehbe and Emil Lei, and has English lyrics containing some Danish, French and German lines.

Melodi Grand Prix 2019 - Result

  1. Leonora – "Love Is Forever" (super-finalist, winner)
  2. Julie & Nina – "League of Light" (super-finalist)
  3. Sigmund – "Say My Name" (super-finalist)
  • Simone Emilie – "Anywhere"
  • Jasmin Gabay – "Kiss Like This"
  • Rasmus Faartoft – "Hold My Breath"
  • Marie Isabell – "Dancing with You in My Heart"
  • Humørekspressen – "Dronning af baren"
  • Teit Samsø – "Step It Up"
  • Leeloo – "That Vibe"


Leonora Colmor Jepsen, 20, is born and raised in Hellerup, Denmark, and has been writing songs for years, performing on cafés, libraries and at small concerts.

Leonora started figure skating at age seven, and later competed on elite level. She won the Danish Junior Championship three times, and participated in both Nordic and World Championships for juniors.

Today, Leonora has replaced the skating with music, and is currently working on her debut album.

Melodi Grand Prix 2019

The Danish Melodi Grand Prix 2019 took place in Boxen in Herning on 23 February 2019. The winner, Leonora, will represent Denmark at Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv. Hosts of MGP 2019 were Kristian Gintberg and Johannes Nymark (part of Lighthouse X, Denmark 2016).

In Melodi Grand Prix 2019 there were two rounds of voting: The first round where all 10 songs performed, and the top-3 proceeded to a super final, where another voting took place. For the third time a special fan jury had 50% weight on the outcome.

Denmark in Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark 2018: Rasmussen - "Higher Ground"

Denmark has been participating in Eurovision Song Contest 47 times. Since its debut in 1957, Denmark has won the contest 3 times:

  • 1963: Dansevise
  • 2000: Fly On The Wings Of Love
  • 2013: Only Teardrops
Denmark 2018: Rasmussen - "Higher Ground"

Worst result was in 2002 (last). Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in Eurovision in 2004, Denmark has qualified for the Grand Final 11 out of 15 times.

Eurovision News