Eurovision Germany

Germany will find a Eurovision 2020 winner

A semi-final, a grand final, a winner and past German representatives in a spectacular way

Many nations are trying to find alternatives to replace the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 due to the cancellation and now a solution has been found in Germany.

The German broadcaster, NDR, has announced that they will broadcast two shows to determine their Eurovision Song Contest 2020 winner. Countries such as Iceland, Norway, Austria, Sweden and Australia are also finding their own winners.

World Wide Wohnzimmer - das ESC-Halbfinale 2020

Ben Dolic - "Violent Thing"

The first broadcast will be held on Saturday 9 May and will considered as a semi final show. All forty one music videos for the entries that were due to be Rotterdam will be presented by hosts Dennis and Benni with commentator support from Peter Urban. Viewers will then be invited to vote for their favorites via televoting and also online voting. These results will be combined by the one-hundred-member Eurovision jury from Germany, which had already chosen German participant Ben Dolic with his song "Violent Thing" during the national final season.

The ten most successful acts make it to the finals and will be broadcast on Saturday 16 May. The first show will air on ONE, ARD Mediathek,, and also on the YouTube channel "World Wide Wohnzimmer" at 20:15 CEST.

Eurovision Song Contest 2020 - das deutsche Finale live aus der Elbphilharmonie

The second and final broadcast will be held on Saturday 16 May at 20:15 CEST and will considered as the Grand Final. The show will be hosted by Barbara Schöneberger live from Hamburg Elbphilharmonie.

Michael Schulte - "You Let Me Walk Alone"

The broadcast of the Grand Final will include the top ten qualifiers from the first show World Wide Wohnzimmer. During the show recordings of the most beautiful, touching and terrible appearances of these countries from the past 64 years will air. Ben Dolic will give a performance of "Violent Thing". Michael Schulte will also perform during the show. He represented Germany in the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 with the song "You Let Me Walk Alone".

During the show, the viewers will vote to determine who will be the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 winner for Germany.

Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light and Eurovision Song Contest 2010

Following this broadcast, Germany will air "Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light" with one hour delay. The special EBU show will be commentated by Peter Urban and Michael Shulte.

At the end of this Eurovision spectacle, at midnight, the final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 will air on First and on Ten years ago, viewers in Europe had Lena in their hearts with "Satellite" and chose her as the winner.

Germany in Eurovision Song Contest

Germany 2018: Michael Schulte - "You Let Me Walk Alone"

Germany is a grand old country in the Eurovision Song Contest. They have participated 63 times since the beginning of ESC in 1956. The only year Germany didn't participate was in 1996. Prior to the competition in 1996, 30 countries had signed up for participation, so EBU had to make a selection. Judges from the countries made a secret voting, where the 22 best qualified. During this voting, the judges only listen to but didn't watch the contestants. This turned out to be highly unpopular, and it was also the only time this method was used. The result of the voting was that Germany was ruled out. This was the first and only time Germany didn't participate in Eurovision Song Contest.

Best result is two victories in 1982 (Nicole - "Ein Bißchen Frieden") and 2010 (Lena - "Satellite"), and the worst is seven last places. They are also a member of "Club Nul Points", with nul points in 1964, 1965 and 2015.

About the author: Steven Spiteri (Malta)

authorSteven has been a huge Eurovision fan since 1995. He comes from a small town called Birkirkara located in Malta and graduated in Business & Administration. Steven follows all the national finals and Eurovision Song Contests every year especially Melodifestivalen and Eesti Laul. He has an endless list of favorites but the all time favorite entry would be Italy's 2016 entry "Nessun grado di separazione" by Francesca Michielin whilst Lisbon 2018 is his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News