Lithuania 2018: Ieva Zasimauskaitė
Photo: LRT

Lithuania: Ieva Zasimauskaitė wins Eurovizija 2018

The Lithuanians have decided: Ieva Zasimauskaitė will represent Lithuania at Eurovision Song Contest 2018 with the song "When We're Old" after winning Eurovizijos dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka 2018

The 2018-edition of the marathon selection "Eurovizija" in Lithuania ended tonight with the ninth show – the Final! Six of the finalists qualified from the two semi-finals.

The winner of "Eurovizijos" dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka 2018 is Ieva Zasimauskaitė with the song When We're Old, who will go to Lisbon and represent Lithuania at Eurovision Song Contest 2018.

Ieva Zasimauskaitė won four of the nine shows: Heat 1, Heat 6, Semi-final 2 and tonight's final.

Ieva Zasimauskaitė - "When We're Old"

The song When We're Old is written by Vytautas Bikus.

Eurovizija 2018 – Result

  1. Ieva Zasimauskaitė – "When We're Old" (22 points)
  2. Jurgis Brūzga – "4love" (19 points)
  3. The Roop – "Yes, I Do" (17 points)
  4. Monika Marija – "The Truth" (16 points)
  5. Kotryna Juodzevičiūtė – "That Girl" (12 points)
  6. Paula – "1 2 3" (10 points)

Eurovizijos dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka 2018

A total of 9 shows were held from 6 January to 11 March where the final of Eurovizijos Atranka 2018 determined the Lithuanian representative at Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal.

The first four shows were elimination heats where half of the acts were eliminated each week.

First round

  • Show 1: 6 January
  • Show 2: 20 January
  • Show 3: 27 January
  • Show 4: 3 February

Second round

  • Show 5: 10 February
  • Show 6: 17 February

Final round

  • Semi-final 1: 24 February
  • Semi-final 2: 3 March
  • Final: 11 March

The expert jury consisted of Ramūnas Zilnys, Darius Užkuraitis, Dovilė Filmanavičiūtė and Aistė Pilvelytė.

Lithuania in Eurovision Song Contest

Lithuania 2006: LT United - "We Are The Winners"

Lithuania has been taking part of Eurovision Song Contest 18 times since its debut in 1994.

The debuting year 1994 Lithuania ended last, and the best result is from 2006 where LT United performed the iconic song "We Are The Winners (of Eurovision)". It didn't win though, but went 6th. Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004, Lithuania has been in Eurovision every year, but only qualified for the Grand Final eight times.

With both Estonias victory in 2001 ("Everybody") and Latvias victory in 2002 ("I Wanna"), Lithuania is the only Baltic country that haven't won Eurovision Song Contest.

Eurovision News