Belgium: Hooverphonic's song for Eurovision 2020: "Release Me"

The Belgian representative at Eurovision Song Contest 2020 – Hooverphonic – has released their song: "Release Me"

This morning the eleventh song for Eurovision Song Contest 2020 has been released. The band Hooverphonic, who will represent Belgium, has released their song for Rotterdam: Release Me.

The song was played for the first time on Belgian Radio MNM.

Back in October 2019, Hooverphonic was revealed as the first country to be stepping on the Rotterdam Ahoy stage to represent the country in the world's biggest music competition.

Belgium 2020: Hooverphonic – "Release Me"

Belgium has two Eurovision broadcasters who rotate every year as the one in charge of Eurovision: 2020 is VRT's year after RTBF – the French-speaking broadcaster – chose Eliot Vasamillet for Tel Aviv.


Hooverphonic is a band from 1995, formed of three members: Alex Callier, Raymond Geerts and Luka Cruysberghs. Out of the three, Alex and Raymond have been within the band since the beginning while Luka was announced as its new vocalist just last year.

The band was originally formed in October 1995 and is known for their diverse music style that goes from alternative to rock to electropop and more.

Hooverphonic have released ten studio albums so far, the last being from 2018: Looking For The Stars.

Belgium in Eurovision Song Contest

Belgium 2010: Tom Dice - "Me And My Guitar"

Belgium has been participating 61 times in Eurovision since the beginning in 1956.

They won the contest in 1986 (Sandra Kim – J'aime La Vie), but finished last 8 times (two of them with Nul Points).

Belgium 2010: Tom Dice - "Me And My Guitar"

Since the introductions of the Semi-finals in 2004 Belgium qualified for the Grand Final 6 out of 16 times (In 2010 they even came first in Semi-final 1). The last 5 years Belgium had two top-4 placements and one in top-10.

Eurovision News