Photo: ERR

Estonia: 5miinust and Puuluup win Eesti Laul 2024

The Eesti Laul 2024 winner has been crowned! 5miinust and Puuluup will be waving the flag for Estonia in Malmö this May at Eurovision 2024 after winning Eesti Laul 2024 with the song "(nendest) narkootikumidest ei tea me (küll) midagi"

After a great show, Estonia now knows who's going to represent them on the Eurovision stage in Malmö this May. Once all the votes were counted, it became official: 5miinust and Puuluup had won Eesti Laul 2024 and is going to Eurovision 2024 with "(nendest) narkootikumidest ei tea me (küll) midagi" – Yes, that's actually the title of the winning song.

Estonia 2024: 5miinust and Puuluup – "(nendest) narkootikumidest ei tea me (küll) midagi"

"(nendest) narkootikumidest ei tea me (küll) midagi" was written by Kim Wennerström, Lancelot, Marko Veisson, Päevakoer, Põhja Korea, Ramo Teder, and kohver.

It's also worthy to note that this song now holds the official "longest Eurovision song title" honor at 50 characters, overtaking San Marino's 2012 entry "The Social Network Song (Oh Oh -- Uh - Oh Oh), which contains 44 characters.

Eesti Laul 2024 – Final

First round

Voting50% international jury
50% public voting


Voting100% public voting

Like previous years, ERR (the Estonian broadcaster) chose to keep the process of determining the winner the same. The top three of the night, after determined by 50% jury and 50% televote, moved on to the Superfinal where the winner would be determined by 100% televote.

Tonight, we saw all 10 finalists take the stage inside the Tondiraba Ice Hall located in Tallinn. Just like the Semi-final, the two hosts were Tõnis Niinemets and Grete Kuld.

Of course, we can't forget about the incredible guest performances we had! 30 years have gone by since Estonia first started competing in Eurovision, so musicians Gameboy Tetris and Eleryn Tiit, drummer duo Muteko Taiko, and dancers from the Dance Republic Dance School all paid tribute to the late Silvi Vrait, who was Estonia's first Eurovision representative.

We also saw Eesti Laul 2023 winner, Alika perform a rock version of her 8th place Eurovision 2023 song Bridges alongside Bedwetters, who also took part in Eesti Laul 2023.

About 5miinust and Puuluup

5miinust: The Estonian hip-hop group was formed in 2015 in the western Virumaa region of Estonia. The group currently consists of members Estoni Kohver, Päevakoer, Põhja-Korea, and Lancelot.

They've been active in the Estonian music industry since 2016, with numerous album and song releases, as well as awards. 5miinust are currently signed to Universal Music Estonia. Multiple songs of theirs have accumulated over a million streams, and their albums have been successful in their home country.

Puuluup: Puuluup is an Estonian nu-folk duo that was founded in 2014 by Ramo Teder and Marko Veisson. They're known for playing the instrument the talharpa, which is used to represent tradition and folklore. The lyrics and melodies for their music can be described as a mixture of musical inspiration and improvisation.

The duo has a couple of albums to their names, as well as singles. The music that Puuluup creates can be described as having a pinch of realism with modern folklore, but get their inspiration from anything ranging from Polish TV series to Estonian punk, and sweetbread from Vormsi Island.

Eesti Laul 2024

  • 20 January 2024: Semi-final (Tartu)
  • 17 February 2024: Final (Tallinn)

Both shows were hosted by Tõnis Niinemets and Grete Kuld. The Semi-final saw 15 songs take the stage with five of them qualifying to the Final. In the Final, the five qualifiers from the Semi-final were joined by five pre-qualified acts.

For the Final there was two rounds of voting: Round one was made up of 50% jury vote and 50% televote to create the top, determining which three acts moved onto round two, the Superfinal where the winner was decided via 100% televote.

Estonia in Eurovision

Estonia has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 28 times, first in 1994, competing every year except 1995.

Estonia has managed to qualify for the Grand Final 9 out of 19 times.

Estonia 2018: Elina Nechayeva - "La Forza"

Estonia has won just once, in the year 2001, with the song "Everybody," performed by Tanel Padar and Dave Benton and 2XL.

About the author: Justina Helgeson (United States of America)

authorJustina is a correspondent from the United States. She is a more recent fan as she first started following Eurovision in 2021. Since then, she has followed every Eurovision related event and developed a passion for the contest as a whole. If you were to ask them what their favourite all time Eurovision song is, Brividi by Mahmood and Blanco (Italy 2022) will be their answer.

Eurovision News