Photo: YLE

Finland 2019: It's "Look Away" with Darude & Rejman

The song that the superstar DJ Darude and vocalist Sebastian Rejman will perform in Tel Aviv has been selected at Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2019, focused only on choosing the song: "Look Away"

After he stormed the 90s with his "Sandstorm", the superstar DJ Darude will try to storm also the Expo stage in Tel Aviv next May together with vocalist Sebastian Rejman.

YLE, the Finnish broadcaster, has internally selected Darude feat. Sebastian Rejman on 29 January 2019. Three songs were been released on 7, 14 and 21 February 2019.

Finland 2019: Darude feat. Sebastian Rejman - "Look Away"

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2019 – Results

During the one night only of UMK, DJ Darude and vocalist Sebastian Rejman performed the three songs released in the last weeks, and an international jury and the Finnish public selected which song they will perform at Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv:

  1. Look Away (244 points)
  2. Superman (147 points)
  3. Release Me (89 points)

During the show Darude and Sebastian Rejman involved the public, inflaming the stage in Turku, Finland:

  • RELEASE ME included a treadmill in the show;
  • SUPERMAN was a huge laser and lights show with dancers;
  • LOOK AWAY had a dancer who supported the performance with special effects;

The decision of the winning song was made by televoting combined with international juries. The international juries represented Spain, Czech Republic, United Kingdom, Ireland, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Israel.

To host the show we had Mikko Silvennoinen, Christoffer Sandberg and Krista Siegfrids (Finland 2013: Marry me). Krista Siegfrids has also opened the show with "Anna mirrin puhua" and a new version of Netta's "Toy".

Special guest of the evening was Emmelie De Forest, who performed Only Teardrops, winning song of Eurovision 2013.

This edition of UMK is the second one focused only on one artist to choose the song to perform at Eurovision. This format was introduced last year when Saara Aalto, "the eternal second", was selected internally by YLE and UMK 2018 selected the winning song among the three released.

Finland in Eurovision Song Contest

Finland 2018: Saara Aalto - "Monsters"

Finland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has participated ever since, except for six years, mostly because of last years bad position.

Finland 2018: Saara Aalto - "Monsters"

The country has won the competition once, in 2006 with the song "Hard Rock Hallelujah", performed by Lordi.

Since then Finland's best result is 11th place in 2014.

Since the introductions of semi-finals in 2004, Finland has qualified for the Grand Final 8 out of 15 times.

Eurovision News