Flag of Germany

​Germany: World Wide Wohnzimmer Semi Final Results

10 Acts move on to German alternative finale "Eurovision Song Contest 2020 - das deutsche Finale live aus der Elbphilharmonie"

Like many countries Germany is looking for their Eurovision winner 2020 after the cancellation of Eurovision.

Today the semi final World Wide Wohnzimmer took place. After a long show Germany has chosen their 10 favourite entries that move on to the grand finale on Saturday 16 May.

World Wide Wohnzimmer – Finalists

World Wide Wohnzimmer

In World Wide Wohnzimmer all 41 entries of 2020 were presented by hosts Dennis and Benjamin “Benni” Wolter with the help of German Eurovision commentator Peter Urban and YouTuber Freshtorge. The show saw a new music of Switzerland's entry "Repondez-moi".

Much like in Eurovision Song Contest the results were determined by the viewers, who could vote for the 40 countries (Germany excluded) via televoting and online voting before and during the show, and a one-hundred-member Eurovision fan jury. The latter one had already taken part in the German internal selection and helped to choose Ben Dolic with his song “Violent Thing”.

Das deutsche Finale live aus der Elbphilharmonie

Germany’s search for the Eurovision winner culminates in the second and final broadcast on Saturday 16 May at 20:15 CEST and will be considered as the Grand Final. The show will be hosted by Barbara Schöneberger live from Hamburg Elbphilharmonie.

The broadcast of the Grand Final will include the top ten qualifiers from the first show World Wide Wohnzimmer. During the show recordings of the most beautiful, touching, and terrible appearances of these countries from the past 64 years will air. Ben Dolic will give a performance of "Violent Thing". Michael Schulte will also perform during the show. He represented Germany in the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 with the song "You Let Me Walk Alone".

The combination of the Eurovision fan jury vote, the televoting and the online voting of the viewers will then determine who will be the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 winner for Germany.

Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light and Eurovision Song Contest 2010

Following this broadcast, Germany will air "Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light" with one hour delay. The special EBU show will be commentated by Peter Urban and Michael Schulte.

At the end of this Eurovision spectacle, at midnight, the final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 will air on Das Erste and on Ten years ago, viewers in Europe had Lena with "Satellite" in their hearts with and chose her as the winner.

Germany in Eurovision Song Contest

Germany 2018: Michael Schulte - "You Let Me Walk Alone"

Germany is a grand old country in the Eurovision Song Contest. They have participated 63 times since the beginning of ESC in 1956. The only year Germany didn't participate was in 1996. Prior to the competition in 1996, 30 countries had signed up for participation, so EBU had to make a selection.

Germany 2018: Michael Schulte - "You Let Me Walk Alone"

Judges from the countries made a secret voting, where the 22 best qualified. During this voting, the judges only listen to but didn't watch the contestants. This turned out to be highly unpopular, and it was also the only time this method was used. The result of the voting was that Germany was ruled out. This was the first and only time Germany didn't participate in Eurovision Song Contest.

Best result is two victories in 1982 (Nicole - "Ein Bißchen Frieden") and 2010 (Lena - "Satellite"), and the worst is seven last places. They are also a member of "Club Nul Points", with nul points in 1964, 1965 and 2015.

About the author: Selina (Germany)

Selina is a 23-year-old student from Germany. Her first memory of Eurovision is Lordi's victory in 2006 but it wasn't until after Alexander Rybak's "Fairytale" that she slowly was drawn into the Eurovision bubble.
Her favourite country in Eurovision is Italy.

Eurovision News