Norway 1989: Jahn Teigen

Jahn Teigen wins the fourth show of "Adresse Europa" in Norway

A pre-selection song win for the last Adresse Europa show before an Alternative Eurovision in Norway

The forth and final episode of Adresse Europe in Norway has aired, which is part of a Eurovision lineup to leading to an alternative Eurovision broadcast this year.

The concept of the show was to focus on a number of memorable past entries while giving their opinions and giving a score according to their tastes.

The last show focused on memorable past entries from Norway, Lithuania, Iceland, Portugal, Cyprus, Estonia, Belarus, Israel, Slovenia, and Poland.

During the fourth show a pre-selection song won by Jahn Teigen with the song "Optimist" by scoring 96 points. The song was eliminated during the Norwegian Melodi Grand Prix 1989. Jahn is no stranger to the Eurovision world. He represented Norway in the Eurovision Song Contest three times in 1978, 1982 and 1983. He became known throughout Europe as a result of his 1978 performance in the contest, which won nul points for Norway.

This was an emotional win during the program as he sadly passed away 24 February 2020.

Jahn Teigen - "Optimist"

Adresse Europa – Show 4 Results

  1. Norway (MGP 1989) – Optimist (Jahn Teigen - 96 points)
  2. Cyprus 2018 – Fuego (Eleni Foureira - 90 points)
  3. Israel 1979 – Hallelujah (Milk and Honey - 79 points)
  4. Portugal 2017 – Amar Pelos Dois (Salvador Sobral - 61 points)
  5. Belarus 2016 – IVAN (Help You Fly - 55 points)
  6. Lithuania 2006 – LT United (We Are The Winners - 53 points)
  7. Poland 2014 – Donatan & Cleo (My Słowianie - 50 points)
  8. Iceland 1997 – Paul Oscar (Minn hinsti dans - 49 points)
  9. Slovenia 2001 – Nuša Derenda (Energy - 39 points)
  10. Estonia 2008 – Kreisiraadio (Leto Svet - 10 points)

All previous shows can be re-watched on the NRK website. After the four planned shows of Adresse Europa, now on 15 May at 21:05 CEST, Eurovision Song Contest: Norge bestemmer will give viewers the chance to vote for their Eurovision Song Contest 2020 winner.

Eurovision Song Contest: Norge Bestemmer

On Friday 15 May, viewers will have the opportunity to vote for this year's winner. The show will be hosted by Marte Stokstad, who was recently appointed as the new commentator for Eurovision Song Contest in Norway. The first part of voting will be open in May and held online through the MGP portal. The entries that will get the most votes will progress to the live show on 15 May where the public can vote for their 2020 winner making Norway finding their alternative winner for the year.

In addition to this, there will be guests and music in the studio during the broadcast. The program will also pay tribute to this year's Norwegian representative Ulrikke who was due to represent the nation with the song "Attention".

Norway in Eurovision Song Contest

Norway 1985: Bobbysocks - "La Det Swinge"

Since the debut in 1960 Norway has participated 58 times in Eurovision. They have won the competition three times:

Norway 1985: Bobbysocks - "La Det Swinge"

In 2009, Alexander Rybak's Fairytale was the song that has received most points with the old voting system: 387 points – got 12 points from 16 countries. But Norway holds another Eurovision record: The country that ended last most times – 10 last places!

Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004, Norway has been very succesful with qualification to the Grand Final 13 out of 16 times.

About the author: Steven Spiteri (Malta)

authorSteven has been a huge Eurovision fan since 1995. He comes from a small town called Birkirkara located in Malta and graduated in Business & Administration. Steven follows all the national finals and Eurovision Song Contests every year especially Melodifestivalen and Eesti Laul. He has an endless list of favorites but the all time favorite entry would be Italy's 2016 entry "Nessun grado di separazione" by Francesca Michielin whilst Lisbon 2018 is his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News