Lithuania Pabandom iš naujo 2021: Gebrasy
Gebrasy won the second heat (Photo: E. Blaževič / LRT)

Lithuania's Pabandom iš naujo 2021: Five last semi-finalists selected

The search continues in Lithuania for Eurovision 2021 as the last semi-finalists were selected during Pabandom iš naujo's second heat

The group of semi-finalists of Lithuania's Pabandom iš naujo has been found with the second, and last, heat of the country's national selection coming to an end.

The five songs selected tonight will join last week's five and fight for a spot in Pabandom iš naujo's Final scheduled for 6 February.

Tonight's show was also pre-recorded, in order to avoid the spread of COVID-19, and featured a performance by The Roop who performed their entry for this year's competition, "Discoteque". The band has been granted a direct ticket to the show's Final.

Gebrasy, Gabrielius Vagelis, Evita Cololo, Norbertas and Aistė Brokenleg were the selected ones. The decision was made by a five-member jury (50%) and televoting (50%). Tonight's jury panel consisted of: Ramūnas Zilnys, Ieva Narkuté, Gerūta Griniūtė, Vytautas Bikus and Stanislavas Stavickis-Stano.

Pabandom iš naujo 2021 – Heat 2 results

Pabandom iš naujo 2021

The Lithuanian selection for Eurovision 2021 will consist of four shows:

  • 16 January 2021: Heat 1
  • 23 January 2021: Heat 2
  • 30 January 2021: Semi-final
  • 6 February 2021: Final

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, all of the shows will be pre-recorded before hand. Vytautas Rumšas, Ieva Stasiulevičiūtė and Vaidas Baumila (Lithuania 2015) are in charge of hosting the shows.

Last year's winner, The Roop, will return to the national selection after the cancellation of Eurovision 2020 with a brand new song, "Discoteque". The group has been awarded a ticket to the final of Pabandom iš naujo, while the other acts will need to qualify for the national final.

Lithuania in Eurovision Song Contest

Lithuania has been taking part of Eurovision Song Contest 20 times since its debut in 1994.

The debuting year 1994 Lithuania ended last, and the best result is from 2006 where LT United performed the iconic song "We Are The Winners (of Eurovision)". It didn't win though, but went 6th. Since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004, Lithuania has been in Eurovision every year and qualified for the Grand Final 9 out of 16 times.

With both Estonias victory in 2001 ("Everybody") and Latvias victory in 2002 ("I Wanna"), Lithuania is the only Baltic country that haven't won Eurovision Song Contest.

About the author: Pedro Santos (Portugal)

authorPedro comes from Lisbon, Portugal. He's 30 years old and graduated in journalism. He has attended Eurovision Song Contest three times live - 2018, 2019 and 2022 - and covered the show twice more (2021, 2023) but his first Eurovision memory takes him back to 2007 when Sarbel delivered his catchy "Yassou Maria" performance. Pedro's favorite Eurovision song is Albania's 2015 "I'm Alive" by Elhaida Dani which is also his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News