Mariam from Georgia wins Junior Eurovision 2016

10 year old Mariam from Georgia wins Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016 with the song "Mzeo"

Junior Eurovision 2016 Results

This afternoon Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016 took place in Valletta, Malta. Mariam Mamadashvili from Georgia won with the song "Mzeo". 17 countries participates in the 14th edition of Junior Eurovision. For the first time the results were determined by a combination of professional and young jurors.

Georgia has participated in Junior Eurovision Song Contest nine times since its debut in 2007. It is the third time Georgia has won the contest: 2008, 2011 and now also 2016.

Mariam Mamadashvili is 10 years old, and has been performing since she was four years old, and has been studying at the Broadway Method Academy since 2015.

Official Music Video: Mariam Mamadashvili - Mzeo (Georgia)

Junior Eurovision 2016 results

PlaceCountrySong / ArtistPointsRunning
1Georgia icon239 17
2Armenia icon232 2
3Italy icon209 11
4Russia icon202 4
5Australia icon202 14
6Malta icon191 5
7Belarus icon177 9
8Netherlands icon174 15
9Bulgaria icon161 6
10Ireland icon122 1
11Poland icon60 8
12North Macedonia icon41 7
13Albania icon38 3
14Ukraine icon30 10
15Israel icon27 13
16Cyprus icon27 16
17Serbia icon14 12

Junior Eurovision 2016

Date: 20 November 2016
Time: 16:00 CET
Place: Valletta, Malta
Arena: Mediterranean Conference Centre
Broadcaster: Public Broadcasting Services Limited (PBS)

17 countries competed, and for the first time there were no public televoting during the contest. Instead the winner was determined solely by a combination of professional and young jurors.

Interval acts were last year's Junior Eurovision winner, Destiny Chukunyere, along with Poli Genova (Bulgaria 2011 & 2016, JESC 2015 host). Jedward (Ireland 2011 & 2012) performed their new song "Hologram".

Winners of Junior Eurovision

  • 2003: Croatia (Dino Jelušić: "Ti si moja prva ljubav")
  • 2004: Spain (María Isabel: "Antes muerta que sencilla")
  • 2005: Belarus (Ksenia Sitnik: "My vmeste" / "Мы вместе")
  • 2006: Russia (Tolmachevy Sisters: "Vesenniy Jazz" / "Весенний джаз")
  • 2007: Belarus (Alexey Zhigalkovich: "S druz'yami" / "С друзьями")
  • 2008: Georgia (Bzikebi: "Bzz..")
  • 2009: Netherlands (Ralf Mackenbach: "Click Clack")
  • 2010: Armenia (Vladimir Arzumanyan: "Mama" / "Մամա")
  • 2011: Georgia (CANDY: "Candy Music")
  • 2012: Ukraine (Anastasiya Petryk: "Nebo" / "Небо")
  • 2013: Malta (Gaia Cauchi: "The Start")
  • 2014: Italy (Vincenzo Cantiello: "Tu primo grande amore")
  • 2015: Malta (Destiny Chukunyere: "Not My Soul")
  • 2016: Georgia (Mariam Mamadashvili: "Mzeo")

Eurovision News