Iceland 2020: Daði & Gagnamagnið

Austria: Daði og Gagnamagnið wins first show of Der Kleine Song Contest

The first jury winner from the Austrian alternative show announced

A number of countries are broadcasting alternative Eurovision programs due to the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 cancellation, including Austria, that lined up three special shows by the name "Der Kleine Song Contest". These shows will be broadcast on 14, 16 and 18 April on ORF 1.

During each show, the Austrian Jury will examine and at the conclusion of every show a jury winner of the shown entries will be announced. During the final broadcast, the audience will decide which of the three jury winners will be the overall winner enabling Austria to find their Eurovision Song Contest 2020 winner.

The first from the three shows was broadcast this evening with the Austrian Jury examining a batch of fourteen songs. The countries in tonight's show were: Netherlands, Israel, United Kingdom, Armenia, Georgia, Bulgaria, Spain, Belarus, Poland, Romania, Iceland, San Marino, Belgium and Cyprus.

Daði og Gagnamagnið who was due to represent Iceland in Rotterdam with the song "Think About Things" won the first show with 75 points.

Der Kleine Song Contest – Show 1 results

Daði og Gagnamagnið – "Thinking About Things"

Der Kleine Song Contest – Jury members

Andi Knoll, The host of "Der Kleine Song Contest" aired the fourteen official videos while the Austrian Jurors gave their thoughts about the songs. Right after each entry was presented, all ten jurors presented their votes.

"Der Kleine Song Contest" will hold the second show on Thursday 16 April at 20:15 CEST on ORF 1.

Austria in Eurovision Song Contest

Austria 2018: Cesár Sampson - "Nobody But You"

Austria has been participating in Eurovision Song Contest 52 times since its debut in 1957. They won the competition twice: in 1966 (Udo Jürgens - Merci Chérie) and in 2014 (Conchita Wurst - Rise Like a Phoenix). They came last in the competition eight times (Zero points in 1962, 1988, 1991 and 2015).

Austria 2018: Cesár Sampson - "Nobody But You"

Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004, Austria only qualified for the Grand Final 7 out of 12 times.

About the author: Steven Spiteri (Malta)

authorSteven has been a huge Eurovision fan since 1995. He comes from a small town called Birkirkara located in Malta and graduated in Business & Administration. Steven follows all the national finals and Eurovision Song Contests every year especially Melodifestivalen and Eesti Laul. He has an endless list of favorites but the all time favorite entry would be Italy's 2016 entry "Nessun grado di separazione" by Francesca Michielin whilst Lisbon 2018 is his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News