Sweden 2018 Melodifestivalen host: David Lindgren

Sweden: David Lindgren to host Melodifestivalen 2018

David Lindgren returns as host for Melodifestivalen 2018 after a succesfull job hosting Melodifestivalen in 2017

David Lindgren returns as host for Melodifestivalen 2018 after he hosted Melodifestivalen 2017 with succes:

– Hosting the Melodifestivalen is one of the funniest things I've ever done, and I really long to meet the audience and TV viewers again. Now, we will be setting up a party that will lift the venues' roofs on the Melodifestivalen tour, says David Lindgren, host of Melodifestivalen 2018.

I was so insanely honored when they asked me againDavid Lindgren

Project manager Anette Helenius from Swedish broadcaster Sveriges Television (SVT) is very pleased to announce David as the one to lead the viewers of melodifestivalen 2018 through six weeks of celebration and joy next spring:

– David is a phenomenal entertainer who shined in the host role and won the viewers' hearts at Melodifestivalen 2017. But David has so many more skills to show. Therefore it feels both calm and at the same time very exiting that David said yes to host Melodifestivalen next year, says Anette Helenius, project manager of Melodifestivalen 2018.

Sunil Munshi will be the director of Melodifestivalen in 2018. He has directed a number of celebrated and spectacular theater sets:

– Getting the honorary mission to direct Sweden's biggest entertainment program feels fantastic. We are going to make a warm, fashionable, exciting party that also raises thoughts and opens new perspectives. I'm incredibly pleased to work with David Lindgren, and to show the audience completely new sides of him, says Sunil Munshi, director of Melodifestivalen 2018.

Melodifestivalen 2018

  • 3 February: Deltävling 1 (Karlstad)
  • 10 February: Deltävling 2 (Gothenburg)
  • 17 February: Deltävling 3 (Malmö)
  • 24 February: Deltävling 4 (Örnsköldsvik)
  • 3 March: Second Chance (Kristianstad)
  • 10 March: Final (Stockholm)

The format for Melodifestivalen 2018 is the same as last year: Each of the 4 heats qualifies 2 songs directly to the final Each of the 4 heats qualifies 2 songs to the "second chance"-show. In the "second chance" 4 songs will be selected for the final.

Hosts of Melodifestivalen

1959Thore Ehrling
1960Jeannette von Heidenstam
1961Jeannette von Heidenstam
1962Bengt Feldreich
1963Sven Lindahl
1965Birgitta Sandstedt
1966Sven Lindahl
1967Maud Husberg
1968Magnus Banck
1969Pekka Langer
1971Lennart Hyland
1972Gunilla Marcus
1973Alicia Lundberg
1974Johan Sandström
1975Karin Falck
1977Ulf Elfving
1978Ulf Elfving
1979Ulf Elfving
1980Bengt Bedrup
1981Janne Loffe Carlsson
1982Fredrik Belfrage
1983Bibi Johns
1984Fredrik Belfrage
1985Eva Andersson
1986Lennart Swahn & Tommy Engstrand
1987Fredrik Belfrage
1988Bengt Grafström
1989Yvonne Ryding Bergqvist & John Chrispinsson
1990Carin Hjulström
1991Harald Treutiger
1992Adde Malmberg & Claes Malmberg
1993Triple & Touch
1994Kattis Ahlström & Sven Melander
1995Pernilla Månsson Colt
1996Pontus Gårdinger & Siw Malmkvist
1997Jan Jingryd
1998Pernilla Månsson Colt & Magnus Karlsson
1999Anders Lundin & Vendela Kirsebom Thommesen
2000Carola Häggkvist, Lotta Engberg, Lena Philipsson, Loa Falkman, Tommy Körberg, Elisabeth Andreassen, Arja Saijonmaa, Lasse Berghagen, Lasse Holm, Björn Skifs
2001Josefine Sundström & Henrik Olsson
2002Kristin Kaspersen & Claes Åkesson
2003Mark Levengood & Jonas Gardell
2004Charlotte Perrelli, Ola Lindholm & Peter Settman (Heats & Final), Liza Marklund, Elin "Grynet" Ek & Henrik Johnsson (Second Chance)
2005Alexandra Pascalidou & Shan Atçi (Heat 1), Henrik Schyffert & Erik Haag (Heat 2), Johanna Westman & Markoolio (Heat 3), Kayo & Micke Leijnegard (Heat 4), Annika Jankell (Second Chance), Jill Johnson & Mark Levengood (Final)
2006Lena Philipsson (Heats & Final), Carin Hjulström-Livh & Henrik Johnson
2007Kristian Luuk
2008Kristian Luuk
2009Petra Mede
2010Måns Zelmerlöw, Christine Meltzer & Dolph Lundgren
2011Rickard Olsson & Marie Serneholt
2012Gina Dirawi, Sarah Dawn Finer & Helena Bergström
2013Gina Dirawi & Danny Saucedo
2014Nour El-Refai & Anders Jansson
2015Sanna Nielsen & Robin Paulsson
2016Gina Dirawi (all shows), Petra Mede (Heat 1), Charlotte Perrelli (Heat 2), Henrik Schyffert (Heat 3), Sarah Dawn Finer (Heat 4), Ola Salo, Peter Jöback (Second Chance), William Spetz (Final)
2017Clara Henry, David Lindgren & Hasse Andersson
2018David Lindgren
2019Eric Saade, Sarah Dawn Finer, Marika Carlsson & Kodjo Akolor
2020David Sundin, Lina Hedlund & Linnea Henriksson
2021Christer Björkman (all shows), Lena Philipsson (Heat 1), Oscar Zia & Anis Don Demina (Heat 2), Jason Diakité (Heat 3), Per Andersson & Pernilla Wahlgren (Heat 4), Shirley Clamp (Second Chance), Måns Zelmerlöw & Shima Niavarani (Final)

Sweden in Eurovision Song Contest

Sweden 2015 | Måns Zelmerlöw: "Heroes"

Since 1958 Sweden has participated 57 times in Eurovision Song Contest with great succes. They have won the contest 6 times:

They came last two times (1963 and 1977), and since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004 Sweden managed to qualify for the Grand Final 13 out of 14 times! (only skipped the qualification in 2010).

Eurovision News