Sweden Melodifestivalen 2021: Hosts
Photo: SVT

Sweden: Here are the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2021

9 hosts and Christer Björkman for Melodifestivalen 2021 in Sweden

The Swedish national broadcaster, SVT, has revealed the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2021, who will present the 28 songs for six Saturdays in February and March 2021. Melodifestivalen is a national selection used to select the Swedish song and artist for the Eurovision Song Contest.

The 2021 edition of Melodivestivalen will be different in terms of shows as the 6 week tour has been scrapped and without an audience due to Covid-19. Another different element will be in terms of hosting.

The revamped Melodifestivalen turns 20 this year. For the same length of time, Christer Björkman has been the mind of the revamped competition, therefore he will be the main host over the whole six weeks together with a different artist on a weekly basis.

Christer Björkman will be accompanied by the following Melodifestivalen 2021 hosts:

  • Deltävling 1: Lena Philipsson
  • Deltävling 2: Anis Don Demina & Oscar Zia
  • Deltävling 3: Jason Diakité
  • Deltävling 4: Per Andersson & Pernilla Wahlgren
  • Andra Chansen: Shirley Clamp
  • Final: Måns Zelmerlöw & Shima Niavarani

During the reveal, Björkman stated:

– It is so incredibly honouring to get the question so I felt that I just have to say yes. But after 20 years with the project, I also know what it is I have agreed to, so it is with horror-mixed delight and great respect that I step into the program.

Melodifestivalen 2021 starts on Saturday 6 February at 20.00 on SVT. All six programs are broadcast from Annexet, one of the venues in Stockholm Globe City. All artists were revealed back in December 2020.

Hosts of Melodifestivalen

1959Thore Ehrling
1960Jeannette von Heidenstam
1961Jeannette von Heidenstam
1962Bengt Feldreich
1963Sven Lindahl
1965Birgitta Sandstedt
1966Sven Lindahl
1967Maud Husberg
1968Magnus Banck
1969Pekka Langer
1971Lennart Hyland
1972Gunilla Marcus
1973Alicia Lundberg
1974Johan Sandström
1975Karin Falck
1977Ulf Elfving
1978Ulf Elfving
1979Ulf Elfving
1980Bengt Bedrup
1981Janne Loffe Carlsson
1982Fredrik Belfrage
1983Bibi Johns
1984Fredrik Belfrage
1985Eva Andersson
1986Lennart Swahn & Tommy Engstrand
1987Fredrik Belfrage
1988Bengt Grafström
1989Yvonne Ryding Bergqvist & John Chrispinsson
1990Carin Hjulström
1991Harald Treutiger
1992Adde Malmberg & Claes Malmberg
1993Triple & Touch
1994Kattis Ahlström & Sven Melander
1995Pernilla Månsson Colt
1996Pontus Gårdinger & Siw Malmkvist
1997Jan Jingryd
1998Pernilla Månsson Colt & Magnus Karlsson
1999Anders Lundin & Vendela Kirsebom Thommesen
2000Carola Häggkvist, Lotta Engberg, Lena Philipsson, Loa Falkman, Tommy Körberg, Elisabeth Andreassen, Arja Saijonmaa, Lasse Berghagen, Lasse Holm, Björn Skifs
2001Josefine Sundström & Henrik Olsson
2002Kristin Kaspersen & Claes Åkesson
2003Mark Levengood & Jonas Gardell
2004Charlotte Perrelli, Ola Lindholm & Peter Settman (Heats & Final), Liza Marklund, Elin "Grynet" Ek & Henrik Johnsson (Second Chance)
2005Alexandra Pascalidou & Shan Atçi (Heat 1), Henrik Schyffert & Erik Haag (Heat 2), Johanna Westman & Markoolio (Heat 3), Kayo & Micke Leijnegard (Heat 4), Annika Jankell (Second Chance), Jill Johnson & Mark Levengood (Final)
2006Lena Philipsson (Heats & Final), Carin Hjulström-Livh & Henrik Johnson
2007Kristian Luuk
2008Kristian Luuk
2009Petra Mede
2010Måns Zelmerlöw, Christine Meltzer & Dolph Lundgren
2011Rickard Olsson & Marie Serneholt
2012Gina Dirawi, Sarah Dawn Finer & Helena Bergström
2013Gina Dirawi & Danny Saucedo
2014Nour El-Refai & Anders Jansson
2015Sanna Nielsen & Robin Paulsson
2016Gina Dirawi (all shows), Petra Mede (Heat 1), Charlotte Perrelli (Heat 2), Henrik Schyffert (Heat 3), Sarah Dawn Finer (Heat 4), Ola Salo, Peter Jöback (Second Chance), William Spetz (Final)
2017Clara Henry, David Lindgren & Hasse Andersson
2018David Lindgren
2019Eric Saade, Sarah Dawn Finer, Marika Carlsson & Kodjo Akolor
2020David Sundin, Lina Hedlund & Linnea Henriksson
2021Christer Björkman (all shows), Lena Philipsson (Heat 1), Oscar Zia & Anis Don Demina (Heat 2), Jason Diakité (Heat 3), Per Andersson & Pernilla Wahlgren (Heat 4), Shirley Clamp (Second Chance), Måns Zelmerlöw & Shima Niavarani (Final)

Sweden in Eurovision Song Contest

Sweden 1984: Herrey's - "Diggi-loo Diggy-ley"

Since 1958 Sweden has participated 59 times in Eurovision Song Contest with great succes. They have won the contest 6 times:

Sweden 1984: Herrey's - "Diggi-loo Diggy-ley"

They came last two times (1963 and 1977), and since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004 Sweden managed to qualify for the Grand Final 15 out of 16 times! (only skipped the qualification in 2010)

About the author: Steven Spiteri (Malta)

authorSteven has been a huge Eurovision fan since 1995. He comes from a small town called Birkirkara located in Malta and graduated in Business & Administration. Steven follows all the national finals and Eurovision Song Contests every year especially Melodifestivalen and Eesti Laul. He has an endless list of favorites but the all time favorite entry would be Italy's 2016 entry "Nessun grado di separazione" by Francesca Michielin whilst Lisbon 2018 is his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News