Iceland 2020: Daði & Gagnamagnið
Photo: Mummi Lú / RÚV

Austria has decided: Daði & Gagnamagnið win Der Kleine Song Contest

Think About Things: The third jury winner and a winner chosen by the public for the Austria Eurovision Song Contest 2020 alternative

Austria had found a Eurovision Song Contest alternative with "Der Kleine Song Contest". With a total of three special shows, Austria was on the hunt for a 2020 winner with the help of an Austrian composed jury and the public.

The first and second shows were aired 14 April and 16 April respectively but as the third and final show aired, the Austrian Jury examined the last 13 songs. The countries in tonight's show were: Albania, Australia, Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Italy, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia and Ukraine.

Der Kleine Song Contest – Final result

100% public voting

Iceland – Daði og Gagnamagnið - Think About Things (48% share of the public vote)

Austria – Vincent Bueno - Alive (33% share of the public vote)

Malta – Destiny - All of my Love (19% share of the public vote)

Daði og Gagnamagnið – "Think About Things"

During each show, the Austrian Jury voted for each song and at the conclusion of every show a jury winner of the shown entries was announced. During the final broadcast, the audience decided which of the three jury winners is the overall winner enabling Austria to find their Eurovision Song Contest 2020 winner.

Daði og Gagnamagnið who were due to represent Iceland in Rotterdam with the song "Think About Things" won the first show with 75 points.

Destiny from Malta won the second show with the song "All of my Love" totalling 97 points.

Vincent Bueno from Austria won the third show with the song "Alive" with 76 points.

Later during the second part of the broadcast, the public could vote for their personal winner among the three jury winners.

Der Kleine Song Contest – Show 3 results

Austria – Vincent Bueno - Alive (76 points)

Denmark – Ben & Tan - Yes (73 points)

Germany – Ben Dolic - Violent Thing (66 points)

Albania – Arilena Ara - Fall from the Sky (62 points)

Norway – Ulrikke - Attention (62 points)

Italy – Diodato - Fai Rumore (59 points)

Greece – Stefania - Superg!rl (51 points)

Czech Republic – Benny Cristo - Kemama (51 points)

Estonia – Uku Suviste - What Love Is (48 points)

Ukraine – Go_A - Solovey (45 points)

North Macedonia – Vasil - You (42 points)

Australia – Montaigne - Don't Break Me (35 points)

Serbia – Hurricane - Hasta La Vista (35 points)

Before the public votes were announced, Andi Knoll, spoke to the three jury winners via a satellite link. At the end of the second and final part of "Der Kleine Song Contest" the Icelandic representative, Daði og Gagnamagnið, won the public vote with the song "Think About Things" making him the winner of the Austria Eurovision Song Contest 2020.

Der Kleine Song Contest – Jury members

Austria in Eurovision Song Contest

Austria 2018: Cesár Sampson - "Nobody But You"

Austria has been participating in Eurovision Song Contest 52 times since its debut in 1957. They won the competition twice: in 1966 (Udo Jürgens - Merci Chérie) and in 2014 (Conchita Wurst - Rise Like a Phoenix). They came last in the competition eight times (Zero points in 1962, 1988, 1991 and 2015).

Austria 2018: Cesár Sampson - "Nobody But You"

Since the introduction of Semi-finals in 2004, Austria only qualified for the Grand Final 7 out of 12 times.

About the author: Steven Spiteri (Malta)

authorSteven has been a huge Eurovision fan since 1995. He comes from a small town called Birkirkara located in Malta and graduated in Business & Administration. Steven follows all the national finals and Eurovision Song Contests every year especially Melodifestivalen and Eesti Laul. He has an endless list of favorites but the all time favorite entry would be Italy's 2016 entry "Nessun grado di separazione" by Francesca Michielin whilst Lisbon 2018 is his favorite Eurovision edition.

Eurovision News