Sweden Melodifestivalen 2020 hosts: David Sundin​, Lina Hedlund, Linnea Henriksson
David Sundin​, Lina Hedlund and Linnea Henriksson (Photo: Eva Edsjö / SVT)

Sweden: Here are the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2020

The trio David Sundin​, Lina Hedlund and Linnea Henriksson will be the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2020 in Sweden

The Swedish broadcaster Sveriges Television (SVT) has revealed the hosts of next year's Melodifestivalen, who will present the 28 songs during six Saturdays in February and March 2020, to select the Swedish song and artist for Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam:

  • Lina Hedlund
  • Linnea Henriksson
  • David Sundin

Christel Tholse Willers, the executive producer of Melodifestivalen, says:

– Lina Hedlund, Linnea Henriksson and David Sundin are a trio with a chemistry that entertains and warms people. They all have a close relationship with the viewers. Each one has a special glow and talent that will be wonderful to give the Melodifestivalen viewers this winter.

In a press briefing from SVT, Lina Hedlund says, that it has been a dream for years, to host Sweden's largest TV show:

– I have competed six times (2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2014, 2019), and interval act in 2013 and 2017, so getting this new role in this context feels tremendously cool, Lina Hedlund says.

Linnea Henriksson describes her coming role, as the "world's biggest honor". David Sundin says that his first thought when asked, was "Finally!".

Melodifestivalen 2020

  • 1 February: Deltävling 1, Linköping
  • 8 February: Deltävling 2, Göteborg
  • 15 February: Deltävling 3, Luleå
  • 22 February: Deltävling 4, Malmö
  • 29 February: Second Chance, Eskilstuna
  • 7 March: Melodifestivalen Final, Stockholm

The format for Melodifestivalen 2020 is the same as in previous years: In each of the 4 heats, there'll be 2 songs that will qualify directly into the final; in each of the 4 heats there'll be 2 songs that will qualify to the "second chance-show" (the Andra Chansen round). At this stage, 4 songs will be selected for the final.

The submissions for Melodifestivalen 2020 are open and will close on 15 September 2019.

Hosts of Melodifestivalen

1959Thore Ehrling
1960Jeannette von Heidenstam
1961Jeannette von Heidenstam
1962Bengt Feldreich
1963Sven Lindahl
1965Birgitta Sandstedt
1966Sven Lindahl
1967Maud Husberg
1968Magnus Banck
1969Pekka Langer
1971Lennart Hyland
1972Gunilla Marcus
1973Alicia Lundberg
1974Johan Sandström
1975Karin Falck
1977Ulf Elfving
1978Ulf Elfving
1979Ulf Elfving
1980Bengt Bedrup
1981Janne Loffe Carlsson
1982Fredrik Belfrage
1983Bibi Johns
1984Fredrik Belfrage
1985Eva Andersson
1986Lennart Swahn & Tommy Engstrand
1987Fredrik Belfrage
1988Bengt Grafström
1989Yvonne Ryding Bergqvist & John Chrispinsson
1990Carin Hjulström
1991Harald Treutiger
1992Adde Malmberg & Claes Malmberg
1993Triple & Touch
1994Kattis Ahlström & Sven Melander
1995Pernilla Månsson Colt
1996Pontus Gårdinger & Siw Malmkvist
1997Jan Jingryd
1998Pernilla Månsson Colt & Magnus Karlsson
1999Anders Lundin & Vendela Kirsebom Thommesen
2000Carola Häggkvist, Lotta Engberg, Lena Philipsson, Loa Falkman, Tommy Körberg, Elisabeth Andreassen, Arja Saijonmaa, Lasse Berghagen, Lasse Holm, Björn Skifs
2001Josefine Sundström & Henrik Olsson
2002Kristin Kaspersen & Claes Åkesson
2003Mark Levengood & Jonas Gardell
2004Charlotte Perrelli, Ola Lindholm & Peter Settman (Heats & Final), Liza Marklund, Elin "Grynet" Ek & Henrik Johnsson (Second Chance)
2005Alexandra Pascalidou & Shan Atçi (Heat 1), Henrik Schyffert & Erik Haag (Heat 2), Johanna Westman & Markoolio (Heat 3), Kayo & Micke Leijnegard (Heat 4), Annika Jankell (Second Chance), Jill Johnson & Mark Levengood (Final)
2006Lena Philipsson (Heats & Final), Carin Hjulström-Livh & Henrik Johnson
2007Kristian Luuk
2008Kristian Luuk
2009Petra Mede
2010Måns Zelmerlöw, Christine Meltzer & Dolph Lundgren
2011Rickard Olsson & Marie Serneholt
2012Gina Dirawi, Sarah Dawn Finer & Helena Bergström
2013Gina Dirawi & Danny Saucedo
2014Nour El-Refai & Anders Jansson
2015Sanna Nielsen & Robin Paulsson
2016Gina Dirawi (all shows), Petra Mede (Heat 1), Charlotte Perrelli (Heat 2), Henrik Schyffert (Heat 3), Sarah Dawn Finer (Heat 4), Ola Salo, Peter Jöback (Second Chance), William Spetz (Final)
2017Clara Henry, David Lindgren & Hasse Andersson
2018David Lindgren
2019Eric Saade, Sarah Dawn Finer, Marika Carlsson & Kodjo Akolor
2020David Sundin, Lina Hedlund & Linnea Henriksson
2021Christer Björkman (all shows), Lena Philipsson (Heat 1), Oscar Zia & Anis Don Demina (Heat 2), Jason Diakité (Heat 3), Per Andersson & Pernilla Wahlgren (Heat 4), Shirley Clamp (Second Chance), Måns Zelmerlöw & Shima Niavarani (Final)

Sweden in Eurovision Song Contest

Sweden 1999: Charlotte Nilsson - "Take Me To Your Heaven"

Since 1958 Sweden has participated 59 times in Eurovision Song Contest with great succes. They have won the contest 6 times:

Sweden 1999: Charlotte Nilsson - "Take Me To Your Heaven"

They came last two times (1963 and 1977), and since the introduction of the Semi-finals in 2004 Sweden managed to qualify for the Grand Final 15 out of 16 times! (only skipped the qualification in 2010)

Eurovision News